Senior appointments (with photos)

     The Government announced today (November 7) the following senior appointments:
(a) Ms Alpha Lau Hai-suen will take up the appointment as the Director-General of Investment Promotion tomorrow (November 8), following an open-cum-in-service recruitment exercise; and

(b) Mrs Millie Ng Kiang Mei-nei, Deputy Secretary for Environment and Ecology (Environment), will take up the post of Director of Administration on December 4, 2023. She will succeed Mr Brian Lo Sai-hung, who has proceeded on pre-retirement leave.
     Concerning Ms Lau's appointment, the Secretary for the Civil Service, Mrs Ingrid Yeung, said, "Ms Lau possesses outstanding management abilities and extensive leadership experience in corporate and institutional banking, as well as fintech, in Hong Kong and the Mainland. I have confidence that she will take a proactive role in attracting and retaining inward investment by promoting Hong Kong's unique advantages and premier business environment of enjoying strong support from the motherland and being closely connected to the world under 'one country, two systems', where potential investors will be able to leverage setting up and expanding in Hong Kong. I also trust that Invest Hong Kong colleagues will continue to give their best under Ms Lau's leadership to meet the challenges ahead."
     Commenting on the appointment of Mrs Ng, Mrs Yeung said, "Mrs Ng is a seasoned Administrative Officer with proven leadership and management skills. I have every confidence that she will continue to serve the community with professionalism in her new capacity."
     On the retirement of Mr Lo, who has proceeded with pre-retirement leave, Mrs Yeung said, "Mr Lo has rendered 34 years of loyal and dedicated service. During his tenure as the Director of Administration, Mr Lo rendered staunch support to the Chief Secretary for Administration. He played an instrumental role in co-ordinating the Government's business with the Legislative Council. He also made earnest efforts in fostering closer communication between the Protocol Division and the Consular Corps, as well as enhancing the efficiency in preserving and managing government records. I wish him a fulfilling and happy retirement."
     Brief biographical notes of the three officers are set out below:
Ms Alpha Lau Hai-suen

     Ms Lau has served in senior positions in a number of banking and financial institutions, covering areas such as corporate and institutional banking, fintech, credit risk management, business development, as well as merger and acquisition project management. She has been a Managing Partner in Lobb Consulting Limited since July 2021. She has rich experience in bringing direct investment into Hong Kong and dealing with the relevant authorities and multinational enterprises for business expansion in Asia Pacific.
Mr Brian Lo Sai-hung

     Mr Lo joined the Administrative Service in August 1989 and rose to the rank of Administrative Officer Staff Grade A in April 2021. He has served in various bureaux and departments, including the former City and New Territories Administration, the former Trade and Industry Branch, the former University and Polytechnic Grants Committee (later renamed as the University Grants Committee), the former Trade Department, the former Transport Bureau, the Innovation and Technology Commission, the former Housing, Planning and Lands Bureau (later reorganised as the Development Bureau), the Civil Service Bureau, the Trade and Industry Department and the Education Bureau. He served as Deputy Secretary for the Civil Service from July 2018 to August 2020, Director-General of Trade and Industry from August 2020 to May 2022, and the Director of Administration from May 2022 to October 2023.

Mrs Millie Ng Kiang Mei-nei

     Mrs Ng joined the Administrative Service in August 1995 and rose to the rank of Administrative Officer Staff Grade B1 in April 2022. She has served in various bureaux and departments, including the former Trade and Industry Branch, the Home Affairs Department, the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in Washington DC, the former Financial Services Bureau (later renamed as Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau), the former Environment, Transport and Works Bureau, the former Transport and Housing Bureau and the Security Bureau. She served as Deputy Secretary in the former Innovation and Technology Bureau from November 2015 to May 2020, Deputy Director of Environmental Protection from May 2020 to May 2021, and has been serving as Deputy Secretary for the Environment (later renamed as Deputy Secretary for Environment and Ecology (Environment)) since May 2021.

Ends/Tuesday, November 7, 2023
Issued at HKT 16:00