Go to main content
Government to expand TTPS list of universities to broaden network for attracting talents
     The Government announced today (October 26) that from November 1, the list of eligible universities under the Top Talent Pass Scheme (TTPS) would be expanded to add eight top institutions from the Mainland and overseas, making a total of 184 institutions, with a view to attracting more talents to Hong Kong for development.

     A Government spokesman said, "The global competition for talents remains fierce. Hong Kong needs to recruit talents proactively to relieve the tight situation of the local labour market and supplement the local talent pool. To further expand the network for attracting more global talents, the Policy Address this year set out the expansion of the list of eligible universities of the TTPS to strengthen the efforts to compete for talents."

     At present, the list of eligible universities under the TTPS covers the top 100 universities under the four designated world university rankings in the past five years, namely the Times Higher Education World University Rankings, the Quacquarelli Symonds (QS) World University Rankings, the U.S. News and World Report's Best Global Universities Rankings and the Shanghai Jiao Tong University Academic Ranking of World Universities.

     From November 1, the list of eligible universities will also include eight additional top institutions from the Mainland and overseas, namely:
  1. The top five universities/institutions providing specialised hotel programmes on the QS World University Rankings in the discipline of "hospitality and leisure management" in the past five years: EHL Hospitality Business School, Swiss Hotel Management School, Les Roches Global Hospitality Management Education, Glion Institute of Higher Education, and Hotelschool The Hague; and
  2. The top 10 Mainland universities under the Shanghai Jiao Tong University Best Chinese Universities Ranking in the past five years yet to be included in the current list of eligible universities: Wuhan University, Xi'an Jiaotong University, and Harbin Institute of Technology.

     The expanded list of eligible universities under the TTPS will be increased to cover 184 universities. The eligibility criteria, procedures and immigration arrangements of the TTPS remain unchanged.

     The Hong Kong Talent Engage (HKTE) online platform (www.hkengage.gov.hk) and the TTPS webpage of the Immigration Department (www.immd.gov.hk/eng/services/visas/TTPS.html) will be revised later. Interested applicants of the talent admission schemes may visit the HKTE online platform or the electronic application platform of the Immigration Department (www.immd.gov.hk/eng/services/index.html#tab_b_1) and submit online applications directly.
Ends/Thursday, October 26, 2023
Issued at HKT 15:19
Today's Press Releases