Government announces appointments to Research Council

     ‚ÄčThe Government announced today (September 28) the appointments of 14 non-official members to the Research Council for a term of two years, and the appointment of an additional ex-officio member to the Council. All appointments will take effect from October 1, 2023. 

     The non-official members include seven new members and seven reappointed members. The new members are Professor Engle Angela Chan, Dr Karen Chan Kar-loen, Professor Paul Chan Kay-sheung, Professor Ivan Hung Fan-ngai, Dr Raymond Lai Wai-man, Professor Gilberto Leung Ka-kit and Professor Karl Tsim Wah-keung. The reappointed members are Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor, Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa, Professor Lin Chia-chin, Professor Vivian Lin Kwang-wen, Professor Tony Mok Shu-kam, Professor David Shum Ho-keung and Professor Samuel Wong Yeung-shan.

     In addition, the Secretary-General of the University Grants Committee or his representative is appointed as an ex-officio member of the Council.

     The Secretary for Health, Professor Lo Chung-mau, expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Dr Vincent Cheng Chi-chung, Professor Timothy Kwok Chi-yui, Professor Lau Chak-sing, Professor Leung Suet-yi, Professor Lyu Aiping, Professor David Man Wai-kwong, Professor Hextan Ngan Yuen-sheung and Professor Yip Shea-ping, for their invaluable contribution to the Council. 

     The Council, chaired by the Secretary for Health, is responsible for providing strategic steer for funding health and medical research and health promotion projects, and overseeing the administration of the Health and Medical Research Fund including the allocation of funds for approved projects.

     The membership list of the Council with effect from October 1, 2023, is as follows:

Secretary for Health/Permanent Secretary for Health

Professor Engle Angela Chan
Professor Juliana Chan Chung-ngor 
Dr Karen Chan Kar-loen
Professor Paul Chan Kay-sheung
Professor Ivan Hung Fan-ngai
Dr Raymond Lai Wai-man
Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa
Professor Gilberto Leung Ka-kit
Professor Lin Chia-chin
Professor Vivian Lin Kwang-wen
Professor Tony Mok Shu-kam
Professor David Shum Ho-keung 
Professor Karl Tsim Wah-keung
Professor Samuel Wong Yeung-shan
Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry or representative
Director of Health or representative
Secretary-General of the University Grants Committee or representative
Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority or representative 
Dean of the Faculty of Medicine of the Chinese University of Hong Kong or representative
Dean of the Li Ka Shing Faculty of Medicine of the University of Hong Kong or representative
Head of Research Office of the Health Bureau (Secretary) 

Ends/Thursday, September 28, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:00