Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council
     The Government today (August 25) announced the appointment of Mr Frederick Poon Siu-chi as a member of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA) Council for a term of three years with effect from September 1, 2023. Also joining the Council as ex-officio members will be Ms Merry Chey Fung-lin and Ms Dora Yue Kar-man, nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee (HUCOM). The Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin, welcomed the above persons as members of the Council.
     Dr Choi said, "The HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau, which provides quality examination and assessment services, in particular the internationally recognised Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education Examination. I believe that the HKEAA, under the steer of its appointed Council members, will further enrich the expertise of the Authority for future development."
     She also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay and Dr Kan Kar-yin, and outgoing ex-officio members, Ms Margaret Cheung Wai-fong and Ms Jeannie Tsang Wing-shi, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Authority.
     The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.  
     Following is the membership list of the Council with effect from September 1, 2023:
Appointed members:
Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki (Chairman)
Mr Yau Siu-hung (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Eric Chan Cheung-wai
Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang
Mr Choy Sai-hung
Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung
Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee
Mr Lee Wai-hung
Mr Frederick Poon Siu-chi*
Mr Addy Wong Wai-hung

Ex-officio members:
Two persons nominated by the HUCOM
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative
The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative
The Secretary General of the HKEAA
*new member
Ends/Friday, August 25, 2023
Issued at HKT 12:05
Today's Press Releases