Acting CE commends teachers for teaching excellence (with photos)

The following is issued on behalf of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence Steering Committee:
     The Acting Chief Executive, Mr Chan Kwok-ki, today (July 7) officiated and presented the Award for Teaching Excellence to six teachers at the Award Presentation Ceremony of the Chief Executive's Award for Teaching Excellence (CEATE) (2022/2023), while 20 teachers received the Certificate of Merit from the Secretary for Education, Dr Choi Yuk-lin.
     Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Chan expressed appreciation for the teachers' dedication to pursuing excellence in teaching, and their steadfast determination in passing on inspirational teaching and nurturing talent.
     "Invigorating the country through science and education and developing a strong workforce for the modernisation drive is one of the development directions mentioned in the report to the 20th National Congress last year. Building on the unique standing and strengths brought about by 'one country, two systems', and capitalising on our well-established education infrastructure, internationally renowned universities and teaching quality, as well as our professional and accomplished teaching team, it is firmly believed that Hong Kong is capable of proactively leveraging its advantages to meet the country's needs, particularly in its work to build a strong educational system, greater scientific and technological strength, and a quality workforce," he said.
     The Chairman of the CEATE Steering Committee, Dr Gordon Tsui, commended the awarded teachers for their inspiring teaching philosophies and approaches, which not only connected knowledge acquired from textbooks to students' daily lives but also provided students with diversified learning experiences, effectively developing their creativity, communication and problem-solving skills. Students' responsibilities were also successfully cultivated, enabling them to learn to treasure life, and love their families, society and country.

     There were 88 nominations from secondary schools, primary schools, kindergartens and special schools received for CEATE, covering themes of "Technology Education Key Learning Area (KLA)", "General Studies" and "Guidance and Discipline (including Career Guidance)". Assessment of nominations focused on teachers' performance in the four domains of "Professional Competence", "Student Development", "Professionalism and Commitment to the Community", and "School Development". After assessment, three nominations (comprising six teachers) were presented with the Award for Teaching Excellence while eight nominations (comprising 20 teachers) were presented with the Certificate of Merit in total. Please visit the CEATE website ( for the list of the awarded teachers.
     Other officiating guests at today's ceremony included the Permanent Secretary for Education, Ms Michelle Li; the Chairman of the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals as well as the High-level Advisory Panel (2022/2023), Professor Alvin Leung; the Chairman of the Education Commission, Dr David Wong; the Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, Professor Tam Kar-yan; the Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority, Mr Samuel Yung; and the Chairman of the CEATE Assessment Working Group (2022/2023), Professor Lo Ming-tung.
     Sharing activities involving the CEATE-awarded teachers are being rolled out gradually to disseminate excellent teaching practices. Details will be announced on the CEATE website and EDB Training Calendar. 
     The themes of the CEATE (2023/2024) cover "English Language Education KLA", "Personal, Social and Humanities Education KLA" and "Kindergarten Education".  Nominations will be accepted from July 10 to October 6. Related details will be uploaded to the CEATE website on July 10. 

Ends/Friday, July 7, 2023
Issued at HKT 18:20