Go to main content
Green Technology and Finance Development Committee established and convenes first meeting
     The Green Technology and Finance Development Committee was established and convened its first meeting today (June 23) under the chairmanship of the Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan.

     At the meeting today, the Committee learnt about the Government's goals and strategies for achieving carbon neutrality and the work by relevant policy bureaux and financial regulators in driving the development of green technology and finance. Members also discussed and shared views on further promoting development in these areas.

     Mr Chan said, "Embracing green transformation and achieving carbon neutrality are common goals actively pursued by our country and other countries in the world, and Hong Kong's goals and strategies in promoting green development are very clear. In terms of green finance, we are already leading in Asia. In addition to serving as a green fundraising centre in the region, we also contribute to setting green standards for the global market in various aspects. In terms of green technology, Hong Kong also has a number of outstanding enterprises and start-up companies, many of which have already expanded into overseas markets. In the future, Hong Kong will strengthen co-operation with its sister cities in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area, robustly attract funds, technology, and talent from within the region and around the world, and channel funds to support green transformation within the region, in particular accelerating the development of the 'dual engine' of green technology and green finance, with a view to establishing a new industry chain.

     "The Committee gathers leaders from finance, technology, academic, professional services sectors, etc, as well as representatives from the Government, financial regulators and public organisations, providing an important platform for discussing how to promote faster and greater development of green technology and green finance and to showcase Hong Kong's advantages in these areas to the world. Members provided a lot of valuable views in various aspects at today's meeting. I would like to express my gratitude to all members."

     The Committee was set up pursuant to the Financial Secretary's announcement in the 2023-24 Budget to assist in the formation of an action agenda for promoting the development of Hong Kong into an international green technology and financial centre. Members of the Committee include representatives from relevant policy bureaux, departments and financial regulators, as well as 13 non-official members from the relevant industries. The term of the non-official members will take effect from today for two years and end on June 22, 2025.

     The membership of the Committee is as follows:

Financial Secretary

Non-official members (in alphabetical order of surnames)
Ms Clara Chan Yuen-shan
Dr Vincent Cheng Sai-yau
Mr Jonathan Drew 
Ms Loretta Fong Wan-huen
Professor Alex Jen Kwan-yue
Dr George Lam
Ms Poman Lo 
Dr Jun Ma
Mr Philip Ng Kim-lam
Mr Wang Hongbo
Dr Conrad Wong Tin-cheung
Miss Vriko Yu Pik-fan
Dr Martin Zhu Yihao

Official members
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury
Secretary for Environment and Ecology
Secretary for Housing
Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry
Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Deputy Secretary for Transport and Logistics 1
Head of Project Strategy and Governance Office, Development Bureau
Chairman, Council for Carbon Neutrality and Sustainable Development
Chief Executive Officer, Securities and Futures Commission
Chief Executive Officer, Insurance Authority
Deputy Chief Executive, Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Group Head of Emerging Business & FIC, Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited 
Chief Executive Officer, Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited 
Chief Executive Officer, Hong Kong Science and Technology Parks Corporation
Ends/Friday, June 23, 2023
Issued at HKT 20:08
Today's Press Releases