Appointments to Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene announced

     The Government announced today (March 31) that the Chief Executive has reappointed Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee as the Chairman of the Advisory Council on Food and Environmental Hygiene. At the same time, nine serving members have been reappointed and seven new members have been appointed to the Council. All appointments are for a term of two years from April 1, 2023, to March 31, 2025.
     Brief descriptions of the new members are as follows:
     Mr Sam Chong Yan-kit is the Chief Secretary of Sustainable Aquaculture Development and Research Limited.
     Mr Rayman Chui Man-wai is the Chairman of Kam Kee Catering Group.
     Dr Kenneth Lam Ka-ho is the Executive Manager (International Veterinary Liaison and Epidemiology) of Hong Kong Jockey Club.
     Miss Jennifer Liu Wai-fun is the Founder of The Coffee AcademĪŠcs Group.
     Dr Clive Lo Sze-chung is Associate Professor of School of Biological Sciences, Faculty of Science, the University of Hong Kong.
     Ms Ngai Oi-ling is the Senior Manager - Sustainability of NWS Holdings Limited.
     Dr Wong Ka-hing is the Associate Professor of Department of Food Science and Nutrition cum Director of Research Institute for Future Food, the Hong Kong Polytechnic University.
     The Secretary for Environment and Ecology, Mr Tse Chin-wan, welcomed the appointments.
     Mr Tse also expressed gratitude to the seven outgoing members, Dr Olivia Chan Sinn-kay, Dr Chen Xue-ping, Ms Catherine Ching Siu-yi, Dr Dennis Ip Kai-ming, Ms Sandy Keung Yurk-nam, Professor Terence Lau Lok-ting and Mr Richard Tsang Lap-ki, for their contributions to the work of the Council in the past years.
     "We are thankful to all outgoing members for providing valuable advice to the Government on a wide range of important issues including food safety, environmental hygiene, veterinary public health and promotion of green burial," Mr Tse said.
     The Council is a non-statutory body established on April 1, 2000, to advise the Government on food and environmental hygiene issues. The Council comprises a Chairman, 16 non-official members and four ex-officio members.
     The membership of the Council with effect from April 1, 2023, is as follows:
Professor Kenneth Leung Mei-yee

Mr Chan Hak-kan
Professor Chen Sheng
Mr Cheung Ki-tang
Ms Chiang Lai-yuen
Dr Jill Chiu Man-ying
Mr Sam Chong Yan-kit
Mr Rayman Chui Man-wai
Dr Crystal Fok Lo-ming
Dr Kenneth Lam Ka-ho
Dr Peter Lee Wai-man
Miss Jennifer Liu Wai-fun
Dr Clive Lo Sze-chung
Ms Ngai Oi-ling
Dr Stanley Tam Kui-fu
Dr Wong Ka-hing
Professor Wong Man-sau

Ex-officio Members
Secretary for Environment and Ecology, with Permanent Secretary for Environment and Ecology (Food) as his alternate
Director of Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation
Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene
Director of Health

Ends/Friday, March 31, 2023
Issued at HKT 12:36