Go to main content
Appointments to Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority
     The Government announced today (March 3) that the Chief Executive (CE), in exercise of his authority under the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Ordinance (Cap. 485) (MPFSO), has reappointed Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau as Chairman and Non-Executive Director (NED) of the Mandatory Provident Fund Schemes Authority (MPFA).
     At the same time, the Financial Secretary (FS), in exercise of the authority under the MPFSO delegated to him by the CE, has appointed Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan, Mr Dominic Pang Yat-ting, Dr Levin Wang Lei and Ms Fanny Wong Lai-kwan as NEDs of the MPFA. He has also reappointed Mr Lam Chun-sing, Mr Bill Tang Ka-piu and two ex-officio members as NEDs.
     The above appointments are for a term of two years from March 17, 2023, to March 16, 2025, both dates inclusive.
     Announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "Mrs Lau has served as an NED of the MPFA since March 2017 and took up the chairmanship in March 2021. We trust she will continue to effectively lead the MPFA in taking forward major reform initiatives for the betterment of the MPF System.
     "We also welcome the four new members to join hands with other serving directors of the MPFA. I am confident that the MPFA will benefit from their expertise and diversity in the board membership," Mr Hui added.
     Mr Hui expressed his gratitude to the outgoing NEDs, namely Mr Chan Kam-lam, Dr Bankee Kwan Pak-hoo, Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka and Professor Simon Wong Kit-lung, for their devotion and contributions during their tenure.
     The MPFA is a statutory body established in September 1998 under the MPFSO for the regulation and supervision of the MPF System. Following is the membership of the MPFA with effect from March 17, 2023:
Chairman and Non-Executive Director
Mrs Ayesha Macpherson Lau
Non-Executive Directors
Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan
Mr Lam Chun-sing
Miss Queenie Fiona Lau
Mr Dominic Pang Yat-ting
Mr Bill Tang Ka-piu
Dr Levin Wang Lei
Ms Fanny Wong Lai-kwan
Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Permanent Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services) as alternate)
Secretary for Labour and Welfare (Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare as alternate)
Executive Directors
Mr Cheng Yan-chee
Ms Cynthia Hui Wai-yee
Ms Gabriella Yee Gar-bo
Ends/Friday, March 3, 2023
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases