Go to main content
Appointments to Advisory Committee on the Northern Metropolis announced
     The Government announced the appointment of non-official members to the Advisory Committee on the Northern Metropolis today (February 10). The appointments will be for two years, effective from February 10, 2023.

     The Chief Executive stated in his 2022 Policy Address that the Government would establish the Steering Committee on the Northern Metropolis and the Advisory Committee on the Northern Metropolis to strengthen the governance for the development of the Northern Metropolis. The former is led by the Chief Executive to provide high-level policy steer and supervision. The latter, to be chaired by the Financial Secretary and comprising experts and stakeholders in the community, will tender advice and suggestions on the development of the Northern Metropolis.

     The Advisory Committee will advise the Government on the planning and implementation of the Northern Metropolis, on such aspects as land and housing development, development of industries, transport and other infrastructure development, environment conservation and provision of public facilities.

     The Financial Secretary, Mr Paul Chan, said, "The Northern Metropolis is the new engine for Hong Kong's growth in the future, and an important base for promoting innovation and technology and diversified development. It will be crucial in boosting Hong Kong's development momentum, facilitating economic co-operation between Hong Kong and the Greater Bay Area, and creating higher-quality living space for our citizens. We value advice from different sectors of the community, in particular stakeholders from the political and business sectors, the relevant industries, academia and local communities. We look forward to collaborating and working closely with members of the Advisory Committee to take forward the development of the Northern Metropolis."

     The membership of the Advisory Committee is as follows:

Financial Secretary

Non-official Members (in alphabetic order)
Professor Cai Hongbin 
Mr Eric Chan Cho-biu
Mr Chan Hak-kan 
Mr Chan Han-pan
Ms Chan Yuet-ming
Professor Chen Guanhua
Mr Chen Ying
Mr Duncan Chiu
Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum
Mr Holden Chow Ho-ding
Dr Joe Fang Zhou
Dr Hu Zhanghong
Mrs Regina Ip Lau Suk-yee
Mr Ryan Ip Man-ki
Mr Jiang Tiefeng
Professor Ko Ping-keung 
Mr Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung
Professor Paul Lam Kwan-sing
Mr Andrew Lam Siu-lo
Mr Kenneth Lau Ip-keung
Mr Lau Kwok-fan
Mr David Liao Yi-chien
Dr Lo Wai-kwok
Mr Louis Loong Hon-biu
Mr Luk Chung-hung
Mr Eric Ma Siu-cheung
Dr Allen Shi Lop-tak
Mr Sun Yu
Mr Michael Tien Puk-sun
Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen 
Mr Albert Wong Hak-keung
Professor Jonathan Wong Woon-chung
Dr Kennedy Wong Ying-ho
Mr Peter Yan King-shun
Mr Frankie Yick Chi-ming
Dr Daniel Yip Chung-yin
Mr Gary Zhang Xinyu 

Ex-officio Members
Deputy Financial Secretary
Secretary for Development
Secretary for Transport and Logistics
Secretary for Innovation, Technology and Industry
Secretary for Environment and Ecology
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands)
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Director, Preparatory Office for Northern Metropolis
Ends/Friday, February 10, 2023
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases