Go to main content
Appointments to Standing Committee on Company Law Reform
     The Financial Secretary has appointed three new members, Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han, Mr David John Simmonds and Mr Geoffrey Edward Kao, to the Standing Committee on Company Law Reform (SCCLR). The Chairman of the SCCLR, Mr Johnny Mok, SC, and four incumbent members, namely Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin, Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping, Mr Low Chee-keong and Ms Jacqueline Walsh, have been re-appointed.
     The appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years starting from February 1, 2023.
     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said today (January 31), "With the professional knowledge of its members, the SCCLR has provided valuable advice on the improvement of our company law in furtherance of Hong Kong's status as an international commercial and financial centre."
     He added, "We are grateful to the outgoing members, Mr Clement Chan Kam-wing, Ms Gillian Meller and Mr Bernie Ting Wai-cheung, for their valuable contributions to the SCCLR over the past six years."
     The SCCLR was set up in 1984. It advises the Financial Secretary on amendments to the Companies Ordinance and the Companies (Winding Up and Miscellaneous Provisions) Ordinance, as well as amendments to the Securities and Futures Ordinance on matters relating to corporate governance and shareholders' protection, as and when necessary.
     As from February 1, 2023, the membership list of the SCCLR will be as follows:
Mr Johnny Mok, SC (Chairman)
Ms Ivy Cheung Wing-han
Mr Paul Chow Koon-ying
Ms Christine Chung Wai-yin
Ms Julianne Pearl Doe
Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Ms Sabrina Ho Shuk-ying
Mr Geoffrey Edward Kao
Mr Jason Karas
Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, SC
Mr Low Chee-keong
Mr Albert Ng
Ms Fion Ng Siu-mui
Mr David John Simmonds
Ms Jacqueline Walsh
Mr Joe Wan Pui-lun
Ms Tiffany Wong
Ex-officio Members
Ms Katherine Ng Kit-shuen
Head of Listing
Hong Kong Exchanges and Clearing Limited
Mr Stefan Gannon
Special Adviser to Chief Executive
Hong Kong Monetary Authority
Ms Annabel Lee Tung-mei
Deputy Chief Counsel, Legal Services Division
Securities and Futures Commission
Registrar of Companies
Official Receiver
Deputy Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury (Financial Services)
Financial Services and the Treasury Bureau
Senior Assistant Law Officer (Civil Law)
Department of Justice
Ends/Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Issued at HKT 17:15
Today's Press Releases