Go to main content
Appointments to Women's Commission
     The Government announced today (January 13) the re-appointment of seven non-official members, as well as the appointment of six new members, namely Mrs Jennifer Cheng Yu Ngar-wing, Ms Rita Gurung, Ms Jin Ling, Ms Lu Hai, Ms Ashley Tse Hiu-hung, and Ms Vivian Wong Man-lei, to the Women's Commission (WoC). Their two-year term will take effect from January 15, 2023.

     The Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs, Miss Alice Mak, said, "Since its establishment in 2001, the WoC has spared no effort in promoting the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong and advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

     "The re-appointed and newly appointed members come from a diverse background. I trust that they will give valuable advice on the work of the WoC. Eighty-six per cent of non-official members of the WoC for the new term are female," she added.

     Miss Mak also thanked the outgoing members, Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen, Mrs Emily Ho Lam Tim-yi, Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang, Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man and Ms Rigam Rai for their contributions to the WoC.

     The membership of the WoC for the new term is as follows:

Non-official members
Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson)
Mrs Jennifer Cheng Yu Ngar-wing 
Ms Rita Gurung
Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi
Ms Jin Ling
Ms Lam Wai-ling
Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha
Ms Lu Hai
Professor Lui Yu-hon
Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying
Ms Melissa Kaye Pang
Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung
Professor Sham Mai-har
Dr So Wing-yee
Mr Adrian Tam Kin
Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai
Ms Ashley Tse Hiu-hung
Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang
Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying
Ms Vivian Wong Man-lei 
Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying

Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Home and Youth Affairs or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative
Ends/Friday, January 13, 2023
Issued at HKT 13:00
Today's Press Releases