Minimum Wage Commission appointments announced

     The Government announced today (January 13) the appointments to the Minimum Wage Commission (MWC) for a two-year term with effect from March 1, 2023.

     The Chief Executive (CE) has re-appointed Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze as the Chairperson of the MWC and 12 incumbent members from the labour sector, the business sector, the academia and the Government. The Chairperson and the nine non-official members are appointed on an ad personam basis.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Mr Chris Sun, welcomed the appointments. He said, "The new term of the MWC will endeavour to study how to enhance the review mechanism of the Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW). I am most grateful that the Chairperson and all members will continue to serve on the MWC for another term. Ms Wong's exemplary leadership and the members' diverse expertise and rich experience in reviewing the SMW rate will certainly be conducive to the smooth completion of the aforesaid important study. The CE has required the MWC to submit a report on the study by the end of October 2023."

     Established under the Minimum Wage Ordinance, the MWC's main function is to report to the CE in Council its recommendations on the SMW rate. In performing its function, the MWC must have regard to the need to maintain an appropriate balance between the objectives of forestalling excessively low wages and minimising the loss of low-paid jobs, and the need to sustain Hong Kong's economic growth and competitiveness. The MWC also has any other function given to it by the CE in writing. The CE announced in the 2022 Policy Address that the MWC would be invited to study how to enhance the review mechanism of the SMW, including the review cycle, how to improve efficiency, and balancing a host of factors such as the minimum wage level and sustained economic development, and make proposals to the Government in this regard. The CE has given the function of carrying out the aforesaid task to the MWC in writing.
     The membership of the MWC for the next term is as follows:
Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze

Non-official Members
Mr Chan Wing-on
Mr Lau Chin-shek
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Professor Joyce Ma Lai-chong
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Ms Ng Wai-yee
Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin
Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying
Professor Tang Hei-wai

Members who are public officers
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Government Economist

Ends/Friday, January 13, 2023
Issued at HKT 11:45