Appointment of ACAN Chairman and members

     The Government announced today (December 30) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung as the Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN), and appointed Professor James Chan Yuk-kit, Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam, Mr Lau Chun-hung, Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai, Ms Agnes Leung Yuk-kuen, Ms Nicole Li Yuen-ting, Ms Helen Lu Hai, Mr Wilfred Ng Sau-kei, Dr Rizwan Ullah and Mr Benny Wong Wai-yue as new members. Twelve members have also been re-appointed.
     All the re-appointments and new appointments are for a two-year term from January 1, 2023, to December 31, 2024. 
     A spokesman for the Narcotics Division of the Security Bureau said, "The new members come from different sectors including the social services, education, legal and business sectors. With their wealth of experience and expertise, they will bring new momentum to the work of the ACAN."
     Among the new members, Professor James Chan Yuk-kit, Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam, Ms Helen Lu Hai, Mr Wilfred Ng Sau-kei and Mr Benny Wong Wai-yue are directors or senior management officers of companies; Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai and Ms Agnes Leung Yuk-kuen are senior management officers of non-governmental organisations; Mr Lau Chun-hung and Dr Rizwan Ullah are from the school education sector; and Ms Nicole Li Yuen-ting is a barrister-at-law.
     The spokesman also extended his gratitude to the seven outgoing members for their contributions to the work of the ACAN. They are Mr Chan Man-ho, Mr Chan Wing-kin, Mr Fan Hoi-kit, Ms Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong, Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi, Mr Sunny Tan and Ms Susan Yeung.
     The ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The membership list of the new term of the ACAN is as follows: 
Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung
Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung
Professor James Chan Yuk-kit
Ms Vera Ho Ivy Yuen-wei
Mr Rex Ip Yik-nam
Dr Lam Ho-yi
Mr Lau Chun-hung
Ms Anthea Lee Shuk-wai
Dr Lee Tin-yan
Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on
Ms Agnes Leung Yuk-kuen
Ms Li Ka-yan
Ms Nicole Li Yuen-ting
Ms Helen Lu Hai
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Professor Ng Chi-fai
Mr Wilfred Ng Sau-kei
Mr Poon Hing-fai
Mr Albert Su Yau-on
Professor Tang Wai-kwong
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Mr Benny Wong Wai-yue
Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore
Secretary for Education or her representative
Commissioner of Police or his representative
Commissioner of Customs and Excise or her representative
Director of Health or his representative
Director of Social Welfare or her representative
Commissioner for Narcotics

Ends/Friday, December 30, 2022
Issued at HKT 9:24