Go to main content
Appointments to Museum Advisory Committee
     The Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau announced today (October 20) appointments to the Museum Advisory Committee (MAC) and its three standing sub-committees, namely the Art Sub-committee (ASC), the History Sub-committee (HSC) and the Science Sub-committee (SSC), with the appointment of Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak as Chairperson of the MAC, Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen as Chairperson of the ASC, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho as Chairperson of the HSC and Professor Ching Pak-chung as the Chairperson of the SSC.

     All appointments are for a two-year term up to October 19, 2024.

     The MAC and its three standing sub-committees, established on October 20, 2016, comprise members of different backgrounds with a great wealth of professional expertise and experience relevant to the work of the museums, including professionals, academics, museum experts, collectors, art promoters, entrepreneurs, marketing and public relations experts, and community leaders. The MAC and its three standing sub-committees advise the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) on strategies for development, promotion and management of the public museums. 

     A spokesman for the Culture, Sports and Tourism Bureau thanked all the Chairpersons and members of the MAC and its standing sub-committees for their ardent support and invaluable contributions in the past years, including Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai, the outgoing MAC Chairperson; Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang, the outgoing ASC Chairperson; Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei, the outgoing HSC Chairperson; 13 outgoing MAC members (Mr Victor Cheng Pat-leung, Mrs Christine Ip Yeung See-ming, Professor Leung Wing-mo, Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze, Ms Doris Luey Sisi, Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang, Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai, Dr Ng Chun-hung, Professor Ng Tai-kai, Mr David Pong Chun-yee, Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai, Professor Joseph Ting Sun-pao and Ms Ada Wong Ying-kay), and eight outgoing co-opted members (Mr Au Kwong-wing, Ms Grace Cheng Sim-yee, Professor Ching May-bo, Dr Alan Lam Hiu-fung, Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung, Ms Stella See Sau-ying, Dr Billy Tang Ka-jau and Dr Victor Zheng Wan-tai), and looked forward to receiving the valuable advice of the new MAC and its standing sub-committees on the development of the public museums. 

     The membership list and terms of reference of the MAC are as follows:

Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Mr Michael Chan Sze-wah*
Ms Liza Cheung Lai-sang
Ms Rowena Cheung Po-man*
Professor Ching Pak-chung
Mr Chiu Tsang-hei*
Dr Crystal Fok Lo-ming*
Dr Allen Fung Yuk-lun
Mr Andy Hei Kao-chiang*
Professor Desmond Hui Cheuk-kuen*
Ms Elaine Kwok
Dr Kwong Chi-man*
Mr Edmund Lai Man-kit*
Mr Lau Hang-on*
Mr Alan Lau Ka-ming
Ms Josephine Lee Yuk-chi*
Mr Warren Luk Hua*
Ms Erica Ma Yun*
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho*
Dr Ng Tsz-yan
Ms Helen So Hiu-ming
Mr Eliott Hancock Suen
Ms Chloe Suen Yin-wah*
Mr James Tong Wai-pong*
Dr Jimmy Wong Kam-yiu*
Ms Anna Yau Wai-yu*
* Newly appointed Members
Terms of Reference
     To advise the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services on a wide range of subject matter concerning the public museums and related offices managed by the LCSD:
  • positioning, image-building and branding;
  • business development strategies including but not limited to acquisition and use of museum collections, organisation of exhibitions and education programmes, identification of research projects, sponsorship and partnership initiatives;
  • marketing and publicity strategies on the promotion of the museums both locally, on the Mainland and overseas;
  • development of community engagement strategies to reach out to a wider community and stakeholders (e.g. local artists, collectors, local and overseas museums, cultural organisations, and educational institutions);
  • measures to strengthen the operational efficiency and accountability of public museums; and
  • any other matters as proposed by the LCSD.
     The membership lists and terms of reference of the three standing sub-committees are attached in Annexes 1 to 3.
Ends/Thursday, October 20, 2022
Issued at HKT 14:00
Today's Press Releases