Appointments to Steering Committee on Construction Innovation and Technology Fund

     The Government today (September 6) announced the appointments of 10 incumbent members and five new members to the Steering Committee on Construction Innovation and Technology Fund for a two-year term with effect from September 7, 2022.
     The Secretary for Development, Ms Bernadette Linn, said, "The Steering Committee made valuable recommendations on the operation of the Construction Innovation and Technology Fund (CITF) and launched various enhancement measures in partnership with the Construction Industry Council. An injection of $1.2 billion to support the continued operation the CITF for a further five years from 2023 was approved by the Legislative Council in this financial year. We look forward to working closely with all Steering Committee members of the new term to ensure that the CITF will continue to drive the industry towards innovation effectively."
     Ms Linn welcomed the newly-appointed members, Mr Alex Kwan King-fai, Mr Kwok Yim, Dr Barry Lee Chi-hong, Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung and Mr Gilman Wan Tsz-kin, to join the Steering Committee, and expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Mr Chan Chi-chiu, Ms Amy Chan Nga-yin, Mr Victor Cheung Chi-kong and Mr Edwin Chung Kwok-fai, for their sterling contributions to the work of the CITF. 
     The Government set up the $1 billion CITF in 2018 to boost the capacities of enterprises and practitioners in the construction industry to adopt new technology, and to support the industry to harness innovative technology. As of July 2022, the CITF had approved about 2 650 applications, offering funding grants of more than $720 million. The Steering Committee, comprising members of various professions in the industry, advises the Government on the implementation of the CITF.
     Membership of the Steering Committee with effect from September 7, 2022, is as follows:
Permanent Secretary for Development (Works)
Mr Antonio Chan Chi-ming
Mr Cheung Man-tim
Mr Kenneth Cheung Tat-fai
Ms Rachel Chow Ka-wing
Mr Wes Jones
Mr Alex Kwan King-fai*
Mr Kwok Yim*
Dr Barry Lee Chi-hong*
Professor Christopher Leung Kin-ying
Mr Edwin Tong Ka-hung*
Mr Gilman Wan Tsz-kin*
Mr Billy Wong Kin-yee
Executive Director of the Construction Industry Council
Director of Buildings
Deputy Director of Housing (Development and Construction)
Principal Assistant Secretary (Works) 1, Development Bureau
* New members

Ends/Tuesday, September 6, 2022
Issued at HKT 11:00