Go to main content
District Matters Co-ordination Task Force convenes second meeting (with photo)
     The Deputy Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Cheuk Wing-hing, today (July 26) chaired the second meeting of the District Matters Co-ordination Task Force.
     The Task Force unanimously endorsed the launch of a three-month territory-wide clean-up campaign in August. It has also considered the action plans submitted by various departments, including the strengthening of regular cleaning work and elimination of hygiene and street management blackspots.
      "Relevant departments have submitted a total of about 4 000 locations for strengthening their regular cleaning work, and about 600 hygiene and street management blackspots for elimination. All members responded to the call for action speedily and proactively proposed large-scale departmental or inter-departmental actions within their purview, demonstrating fully the departments' commitment to providing a pleasant living environment for the public and earnestly addressing people's concerns and difficulties in daily life, which is most encouraging and praiseworthy," Mr Cheuk said.
        "Various departments also submitted to the Task Force a host of hygiene and street management issues which involve multiple departments and for which the improvement mechanism is yet to be established. The Task Force has started deliberations on various 'long-standing, big and difficult' problems, including water seepage in buildings, garbage apartments and rodent infestation, etc. The aim is to tackle the problems as soon as possible and establish a standard mode of operation for regularised execution in the districts," he added.
     Senior government officials attending the meeting today included the Secretary for Environment and Ecology and his two Permanent Secretaries, and the Heads of the following 11 departments, namely: the Agriculture, Fisheries and Conservation Department, the Buildings Department, the Drainage Services Department, the Food and Environmental Hygiene Department, the Hong Kong Police Force, the Highways Department, the Home Affairs Department, the Information Services Department, the Marine Department, Radio Television Hong Kong and the Transport Department. The Housing Department, the Lands Department and the Leisure and Cultural Services Department also sent their deputy heads to the meeting.
Ends/Tuesday, July 26, 2022
Issued at HKT 17:05
Today's Press Releases  


The Deputy Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr Cheuk Wing-hing (right), today (July 26) chaired the second meeting of the District Matters Co-ordination Task Force.