Go to main content
Chief Executive appoints Harbourfront Commission members
     The Government announced today (June 24) the Chief Executive's appointment of the Chairman and five members to serve on the Harbourfront Commission (HC) for a two-year term commencing on July 1, 2022.
     The members who are re-appointed are the Chairman, Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun, and two individual members, Ms Janice Lai Wai-man and Ms Christina Maisenne Lee. Three new individual members, Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung, Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang and Dr Frankie Yeung Wai-shing, are appointed.
     Welcoming the appointments and re-appointments, the Secretary for Development, Mr Michael Wong, said, "Since his appointment as the Chairman in 2018, Mr Ng has demonstrated superb leadership in guiding the HC in implementing various harbourfront projects and initiatives, as well as laying down important harbourfront principles and implementing insightful harbourfront experiments, including the incremental approach and harbourfront shared space. All these have helped to realise an accessible and vibrant harbourfront and have been generally supported. The existing longest continuous promenade of 7.4 kilometres along Victoria Harbour spanning from Shek Tong Tsui to the East Coast Park Precinct was also an important achievement during his chairmanship. I look forward to furthering partnership with Mr Ng for building an even more vibrant harbourfront for the community."
     He added, "The two re-appointed members, Ms Lai and Ms Lee, as well as the three new members, Ms Lau, Dr Li and Dr Yeung, will provide the work of the HC with valuable comments with their wide range of professional experiences and expertise."  
     Mr Wong also expressed gratitude to the three outgoing members, Ms Kelly Chan Yuen-sau, Mr Alan Lo Yeung-kit and Mr Ngan Man-yu, for their invaluable contribution in promoting harbourfront development in the past six years.
     The HC was established in July 2010 to advise the Government on harbourfront planning, design, management and other related matters with the objective of fostering and facilitating the development of Victoria Harbour's harbourfront.
     Following is the membership of the HC commencing July 1, 2022 (including serving members whose term of service straddles July 1):
Mr Vincent Ng Wing-shun
Secretary for Development
Non-official Members (Organisations)
Business Environment Council Limited
Friends of the Earth (HK) Charity Limited
Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design
Society for Protection of the Harbour
The Chartered Institute of Logistics and Transport in Hong Kong
The Conservancy Association
The Hong Kong Institute of Architects
The Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects
The Hong Kong Institute of Planners
The Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors
The Hong Kong Institution of Engineers
The Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong
Non-official Members (Individuals)
Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting
Mr Ivan Ho Man-yiu
Mr Karl Kwok Chi-leung
Ms Janice Lai Wai-man
Ms Sunnie Lau Sing-yeung
Ms Christina Maisenne Lee
Dr Lawrence Li Kwok-chang
Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying
Ms Angela So Wing-kwan
Mr Tony Tse Wai-chuen
Dr Frankie Yeung Wai-shing
Official Members
Permanent Secretary for Development (Planning and Lands) or representative
Commissioner for Tourism or representative
Commissioner for Transport or representative
Director of Civil Engineering and Development or representative
Director of Leisure and Cultural Services or representative
Director of Marine or representative
Director of Planning or representative
Commissioner for Harbourfront
Ends/Friday, June 24, 2022
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases