Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board
     The Financial Secretary, with the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing, as the Chairman of the Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board (the Board) for a term of three years from July 1, 2022.
     The Financial Secretary has also appointed Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing and re-appointed Professor Chan Koon-hung and Professor Matthew Lee Kwok-on as members of the Board for the same period.
     Welcoming the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "The Chairman and members appointed are experts in their individual professional areas covering consumer protection, legal, accounting and information technology. I am confident that the Board will continue to maintain an efficient and effective Deposit Protection Scheme in Hong Kong under the stewardship of Ms Connie Lau and other members.
     "I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Professor Michael Hui King-man, for steering the Board and the development of the Deposit Protection Scheme in the past six years. I would also like to extend my appreciation to the outgoing member, Ms Anita Gidumal, for her invaluable contribution over the years."
     The Board is a statutory body established in 2004 under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance. It manages the operation of the Deposit Protection Scheme, with a view to protecting depositors and contributing to the stability of the banking system.
     The above appointments under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance were gazetted today (June 24).
Ends/Friday, June 24, 2022
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases