Go to main content
Appointments to Youth Development Commission
     The Government announced today (March 31) the appointment of Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching as Vice-Chairman, as well as the re-appointments of 26 and appointments of six new non-official members, to the Youth Development Commission (YDC) for a term of one year with effect from April 1.
     The Chief Secretary for Administration and Chairman of the YDC, Mr John Lee, said, "The YDC strives to promote youth development and facilitate cross-bureau collaboration to address young people's concerns about education, career pursuit and home ownership, and to encourage their participation in politics as well as public policy discussion and debate. With members' concerted efforts, the YDC has continuously enhanced and expanded various initiatives, including deepening young people's life planning, facilitating young people's upward mobility, strengthening communication with young people, etc. It will further nurture young people's positive thinking and help them develop positive values.
      "Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching has been actively involved in youth development work. During his tenure as a member of the YDC in the past four years, he has offered valuable advice and made exemplary contributions to the YDC. I look forward to working closely with Mr Leung and all members to promote youth development in Hong Kong together," Mr Lee said.
     As regards the outgoing Vice-Chairman, Mr Lau Ming-wai, Mr Lee said, "Mr Lau Ming-wai has been playing an active role in promoting youth development. He was the Chairman of the Commission on Youth and has served as the Vice-Chairman of the YDC since its establishment in 2018. During this period, he led the commissions to launch many outstanding youth development projects, benefiting young people at large. I would like to express my heartfelt gratitude to Mr Lau for his contributions to youth development work over the years."
     Mr Lee also thanked the 12 outgoing members, namely Ms Chan Yuen-ting, Dr Esther Ho Yuk-fan, Ms Louise Kwong Lai-ling, Ms Rebekah Lam Yan-yin, Professor Gabriel Matthew Leung, Dr Kristen Li, Ms Jay Mok Chi-yan, Mr Sam Ng Sum-chun, Mr Lucas Ngan Chun, Mr Hendrick Sin, Dr Isaac Yip Pui-lam and Ms Mary Yu Wah, for their contributions to the YDC.
     The list of members with effect from April 1 is as follows:
Chief Secretary for Administration
Mr Clarence Leung Wang-ching
Non-official members (re-appointments)
Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting
Dr Catherine Chan Po-ling
Mr Jonathan Chan Pok-chi
Mr Cheng Chung-man
Mr Alex Cheng Hong-wun
Mr Alex Fan Hoi-kit
Mr Kenneth Fok Kai-kong
Mr Nicholas Ho Lik-chi
Mr Andy Kwok Wing-leung
Mr Chris Lam Ka-tat
Ms Nixie Lam Lam
Mr Henry Lam Wah-shing
Ms Serena Lau Sze-wan
Ms Ingrid Lee Kwai-ha
Ms Cherry Lee Suet-yee
Mr Kenneth Leung Yuk-wai
Mr Duncan Ma Tak-yan
Mr Victor Pang Wing-seng
Mr Kyrus Siu King-wai
Ms Elizabeth Thong Lee-peng
Mr Alex Tou Yat-lung
Ms Ashley Tse Hiu-hung
Mr James Tsui Siu-lung
Dr Rizwan Ullah
Mr Michael Yiu Kwok-wai
Mr Jeremy Young Chit-on
Non-official members (new appointments)
Ms Chan Wing-man
Ms Stephanie Chung Wing-yiu
Ms Dana Lau Sing-she
Mr Timmy Lee Tan-chun
Ms Theresa Tse Ka-yan
Ms Grace Yu Ho-wun
Ex-officio members
Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
Secretary for Education
Secretary for Food and Health
Secretary for Home Affairs
Secretary for Innovation and Technology
Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Secretary for Security
Secretary for Transport and Housing
Ends/Thursday, March 31, 2022
Issued at HKT 17:00
Today's Press Releases