Go to main content
Appointments to Women's Commission
     The Government announced today (January 14) the re-appointment of the Chairperson and six non-official members, as well as the appointment of two new members, namely Dr So Wing-yee and Mr Adrian Tam Kin, to the Women's Commission (WoC). Their two-year term will take effect from January 15, 2022.

     Ms Chan Yuen-han has been re-appointed as the Chairperson of the WoC. Ms Chan served the WoC as a member before taking up the chairmanship from January 2018. Under her leadership, the WoC has continued its dedicated efforts in advancing the development of women in Hong Kong and maintained close ties with women's groups and concerned stakeholders in promoting the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, said, "Since its establishment in 2001, the WoC has spared no effort in promoting the well-being and interests of women in Hong Kong and advising the Government on policies and initiatives on women's issues.

     "The re-appointed and newly appointed members come from a diverse background and have rich experience in their professions and community services. I hope that they will give valuable advice on the work of the WoC. Eighty-one per cent of non-official members of the WoC for the new term are female," Dr Law added.

     Dr Law also thanked the outgoing members, Ms Scarlett Pong Oi-lan and Dr Loletta So Kit-ying, for their contribution to the WoC.

     The membership of the WoC for the new term is as follows:

Non-official members
Ms Chan Yuen-han (Chairperson)
Ms Susanna Chiu Lai-kuen
Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi
Ms Lam Wai-ling
Mrs Emily Tim-yi Lam Ho
Dr Kevin Lau Chung-hang
Ms Melaine Lee Kam-ha
Ms Elaine Lo Yuen-man
Professor Lui Yu-hon
Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying
Ms Melissa Kaye Pang
Ms Cindy Pun Siu-fung
Ms Rigam Rai
Professor Sham Mai-har
Dr So Wing-yee
Mr Adrian Tam Kin
Miss Sherry Tsai Hiu-wai
Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang
Mrs Viola Wong Ho Suk-ying
Dr Kitty Wu Kit-ying

Ex-officio members
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative (Vice-Chairperson)
Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative
Ends/Friday, January 14, 2022
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases