Appointments to Rehabilitation Advisory Committee announced

     The Government today (December 24) announced the appointment of the new Chairman, Vice-chairman and six new members as well as the re-appointment of 12 incumbent members to the Rehabilitation Advisory Committee (RAC) for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2022.

     The new Chairman, Mr Fung Pak-yan, is currently the Vice-chairman of the RAC. Well versed in rehabilitation services, he assisted in formulating the Persons with Disabilities and Rehabilitation Programme Plan during his tenure. The new Vice-chairman, Dr Kevin Lau Kin-wah, from the business sector is the Chairperson of the Advisory Committee on Enhancing Employment of People with Disabilities. The six new members are Mr Thomas Chu Sai-ming, Miss Jody Kwok Fu-yung, Dr Lui Wai-cheung, Ms Ada Ng Ka-lai, Ms Mandy Tang Hoi-man and Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong. Mr Chu is the Chief Executive Officer of the New Life Psychiatric Rehabilitation Association. Miss Kwok is a Kwai Tsing District Council Member. Dr Lui is serving in the Hospital Authority. Ms Ng is from a technology company. Ms Tang is a research instructional officer on sign language. Mr Yip is an entrepreneur.

     The 12 re-appointed incumbent members are Mr Cheng Ka-ho, Mr Fong Cheung-fat, Ms Heidi Hui Sim-kiu, Dr Joseph Kwan Kwok-lok, Mr Billy Man Shu-shing, Ms Shirley To Shuk-yi, Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang, Ms Wendy Tse Yik-chu, Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang, Ms Elaine Wu Siu-ling, Dr Loretta Yam Yin-chun and Mr Emil Yu Chen-on.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments. He also thanked the outgoing Chairman, Mr Anthony Yeung kwok-ki, and members, Ms Chan Wing-yan, Ms Amy Fung Dun-mi, Mr Leo Lam Cheung-wai, Ms Lau Lai-fong, Mr Willy Law Wai-cheung and Mr Eric Lee Sai-kit, for their valuable contributions to the RAC during their tenure.

     The RAC was set up in 1977 as the principal advisory body of the Government on matters pertaining to the well-being of persons with disabilities as well as the development and implementation of rehabilitation policies and services. The RAC also assists the Government in promoting and monitoring the implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities in Hong Kong.

     ‚ÄčThe membership list of the RAC from January 1, 2022, is as follows:

Mr Fung Pak-yan

Dr Kevin Lau Kin-wah

Non-official Members
Mr Cheng Ka-ho
Mr Thomas Chu Sai-ming
Mr Fong Cheung-fat
Ms Heidi Hui Sim-kiu
Dr Joseph Kwan Kwok-lok
Miss Jody Kwok Fu-yung
Mr Raymond Lai Kwan-ho
Mr Edwin Lam Man-wing
Miss Julia Lau Pui-g
Ms Perina Li Siu-fan
Ms Jennifer Liu Wai-fun
Dr William Lo Tak-lam
Dr Lui Wai-cheung
Mr Billy Man Shu-shing
Ms Ada Ng Ka-lai
Ms Mandy Tang Hoi-man
Ms Shirley To Shuk-yi
Dr Janice Tsang Wing-hang
Ms Wendy Tse Yik-chu
Mr Walter Tsui Yu-hang
Ms Elaine Wu Siu-ling
Dr Loretta Yam Yin-chun
Mr Nelson Yip Siu-hong
Mr Emil Yu Chen-on
Ms Yu Tung-mui

Ends/Friday, December 24, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:00