Government tightens boarding and quarantine requirements for places with Omicron cases detected

     The Government announced today (December 7) that in view of the latest global developments of the COVID-19 pandemic situation, Argentina, Croatia, Fiji and Latvia will be specified as Group A specified places from 0.00am on December 10 to tighten the boarding and quarantine requirements for relevant inbound travellers.
     The Government announced earlier that as a preventive measure, the Government would specify places which have detected Omicron cases as Group A specified places. Noting that the detection of Omicron cases was confirmed in Argentina, Croatia, Fiji and Latvia, the Government will specify them as Group A specified places from 0.00am on December 10. Non-Hong Kong residents who have stayed there within 21 days will not be allowed to enter Hong Kong. Hong Kong residents can only board a flight for Hong Kong if they have been fully vaccinated and hold a recognised vaccination record. They will have to undergo compulsory quarantine in a designated quarantine hotel for 21 days upon returning to Hong Kong, with six tests to be conducted during quarantine, followed by compulsory testing in a community testing centre on the 26th day of arrival at Hong Kong.
     Details on the relevant boarding and compulsory quarantine requirements for respective specified places can be found at
     The Government will gazette the relevant updated specifications under the Prevention and Control of Disease (Regulation of Cross-boundary Conveyances and Travellers) Regulation (Cap. 599H) to effect the above measures.

Ends/Tuesday, December 7, 2021
Issued at HKT 19:39