Appointments to Ping Wo Fund Advisory Committee

     The Government today (September 15) announced the appointments to the Ping Wo Fund Advisory Committee for a two-year term from September 16, 2021, to September 15, 2023.  

     Ms Lu Hai has been appointed as the new Chairperson of the Committee, and three members have been newly appointed to the Committee, namely Mr Ko Hiu-wing, Miss Li Ka-yan and Ms Zhang Ti. Mr Adrian Yip Chun-to, the incumbent Chairperson of the Committee, as well as members Mr Mac Chan Ho-ting, Ms Michelle Cheng and Miss Wong Sze-sze will retire. Other incumbent members have been re-appointed to the Committee.

     The Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Caspar Tsui, expressed his heartfelt thanks to the outgoing Chairperson, Mr Yip, and the three outgoing members for their valuable advice and contributions to the work of the Committee.

     The full membership of the Committee with effect from September 16, 2021, is as follows:

Ms Lu Hai 

Mr Chan Chun-chung
Ms Chan Wing-man
Dr Ronald Chen Yuk-lun
Mr Sam Chong Yan-kit
Miss Cherene Ho Ching-wai
Mr Ko Hiu-wing
Ms Fonnie Leung Fung-yee 
Miss Li Ka-yan
Mr Ng Chak-hang 
Dr Johannes Poon Yin-kwong 
Ms Zhang Ti
Secretary for Home Affairs or representative (ex-officio)
Secretary for Education or representative (ex-officio)
Director of Social Welfare or representative (ex-officio)

     The function of the Committee is to advise the Secretary for Home Affairs on the use of the Ping Wo Fund. The Fund is mainly used to finance the following measures:

(a) research and studies into problems and issues relating to gambling;

(b) public education and other measures to prevent or alleviate problems relating to gambling; and

(c) counselling, treatment and other remedial or support services for gamblers with gambling disorder and those affected by them. 

Ends/Wednesday, September 15, 2021
Issued at HKT 15:00