Go to main content
Appointments to Curriculum Development Council
     The Government today (September 1) announced the re-appointment of the Chairperson Professor Tam Kar-yan and nine members, as well as the appointment of nine new members, to the Curriculum Development Council (CDC) for a term of two years with effect from September 1, 2021.
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "Professor Tam, a notable scholar on information systems and business education, and also a seasoned tertiary administrator, is currently the Dean of the School of Business and Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology. Professor Tam has performed the duties of the Chairperson of the CDC with total dedication. Over the years, not only has he been highly devoted to leading the CDC and overseeing the ongoing renewal of the school curriculum, but he also has taken up various roles in the public service to make a contribution to society with his professional knowledge. Thanks to his excellent leadership and members' active participation, the measures to optimise the four senior secondary core subjects (i.e. Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Citizenship and Social Development in lieu of Liberal Studies) take effect from the new school year to create space for students and cater for learner diversity, which marks a milestone in the Hong Kong school curriculum."
     He added, "The Education Bureau (EDB) will continue to give full support to the work of the CDC and listen to its valuable advice on matters relating to curriculum development from the kindergarten to senior secondary levels. The membership of the CDC comprises frontline educators and academics or administrators from tertiary institutions with profound professional knowledge in education, professionals in the business and technology fields, and a parent representative. Their participation is conducive to providing views and suggestions on promoting students' learning effectiveness and fostering their whole-person development."
     Mr Yeung thanked the outgoing members, namely Mr Eric Chan Sze-yuen, Professor May Cheng May-hung, Ms Chung Po-loi, Mr David Leung Yiu-fai, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr Poon Po-chiu, Mr Joseph Tsang Chi-to, Ms Wat Ka-man and Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze, for their invaluable contribution to curriculum development in Hong Kong.
     The membership list of the CDC with effect from September 1, 2021, is as follows:
Professor Tam Kar-yan Dean of the School of Business and Management and Chair Professor of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Appointed members  
Ms Chan Mei-kuen* Curriculum Leader of Buddhist Chi King Primary School
Ms Chan On-yan Principal of the Church of Christ in China Tuen Mun Church Kindergarten
Mr Cheng Ka-ho* General Manager - Business Development of Lee Kee Group
Dr Cheung Chak-chung* Associate Professor of the Department of Electrical Engineering of the City University of Hong Kong
Professor Ching Wai-ki Professor of the Department of Mathematics of the University of Hong Kong
Ms Hui Ha-mei Senior Teacher of Yan Oi Tong Pang Hung Cheung Kindergarten
Reverend Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming Provincial Secretary General of the Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui
Mr Raymond Kwok Chin-kon Senior Assistant Executive Director (Academic Development & Enterprise) of the Vocational Training Council
Mr Lee Wai-hung Assistant Principal of Fukien Secondary School (Siu Sai Wan)
Ms Lee Yi-ying* Principal of Kowloon True Light School
Ms Mandy Leung Man-yee* Deputy Director - Asset Development of CLP Power Hong Kong Limited
Professor Lo Ming-tung* Head and Professor of the Department of Chinese Language and Literature of Hong Kong Baptist University
Ms Ng Kai-kwan* Principal of Pui Kiu Primary School
Mr Shek Wai-keung Principal of Hong Chi Shiu Pong Morninghope School
Professor Cindy Sit Hui-ping Professor and Chairperson of the Department of Sports Science and Physical Education of the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Mr Paul Tai Lun* Executive Vice-President of the Hong Kong Young Industrialists Council
Mr Wong Yu-leung Chairman of the Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations Sham Shui Po District Limited
Dr Yip Chi-sio* Principal of Munsang College
Ex officio members
Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development) of the EDB, also the Vice-chairperson of the CDC
Chairperson of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council or his/her representative
Representative from other divisions of the EDB
* New member
Ends/Wednesday, September 1, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:01
Today's Press Releases