Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority
     The Government today (August 27) announced the re-appointment of Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki as the Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA). In addition, the Government appointed one new member to the HKEAA and re-appointed one incumbent member. The appointments are for three years, from September 1, 2021, to August 31, 2024. Details of the appointments are as follows:

Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki (re-appointment)
Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee (re-appointment)
Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang
     Also joining the HKEAA as an ex-officio member will be Ms Margaret Cheung Wai-fong, nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee (HUCOM).
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "The HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau. Its distinguished members from the educational and other professional fields would enrich the expertise of the Authority."
     Mr Yeung said he looked forward to the continued development of the HKEAA under the leadership of Mr Yung, and welcomed the new members. He also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching and ex-officio member Professor May Cheng May-hung, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Authority.
     The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.  
     Following is the membership list of the Authority with effect from September 1, 2021:
Appointed members:
Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki (Chairman)
Dr Mak Chi-keung (Deputy Chairman)
Ms Bonnie Lai Miu-yee
Mr Yau Siu-hung
Dr Kan Kar-yin
Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun
Ms Chan Ka-man
Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung
Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee
Mr Kenny Chan Ngai-sang
Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay
Ex-officio members:
Two persons nominated by the HUCOM
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative
The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative
The Secretary General of the HKEAA
Ends/Friday, August 27, 2021
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases