Go to main content
Appointments to Insurance Appeals Tribunal panel
     The Government announced today (July 23) that the Financial Secretary, under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has appointed six new members and re-appointed 25 serving members to the panel of the Insurance Appeals Tribunal (IAT) for a new term from July 26, 2021, to July 25, 2023.
     The panel membership of the IAT for the new term is as follows:

New appointees
Mr Ian Chu Pak-ning 
Ms Nixie Lam Lam 
Mr Peter Li Po-ting
Mr Kevin Wong Ho 
Mr Harry Wong Wing-tai
Mr James Wong Yuk-loi

Re-appointed members
Mr Frederick Chan Hing-fai
Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin
Professor Chan Koon-hung
Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai
Professor Stella Cho Lung Pui-lan
Professor Goo Say-hak
Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai
Mr Eric Hui Kam-kwai
Professor Michael Hui King-man
Ms Julienne Jen
Mr Adrian King
Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Dr Miranda Lou Lai-wah
Dr Gladie Lui Man-ching
Mr Philip Mak Shun-pong
Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing
Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan 
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho
Dr Patrick Poon Sun-cheong
Mr Bhabani Sankar Rath
Mr Gary Soo Kwok-leung
Mr Simon Tang Shu-pui
Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang
Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki

     A Government spokesman said, "The IAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions made by the Insurance Authority (IA) are reasonable and fair."

     The Government also paid tribute to outgoing member Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu for his contribution and support to the work of the IAT.

     The IAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) to review specified decisions made by the IA. The IAT consists of the chairperson and two ordinary members appointed by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury from a pool of panel members on the recommendation of the chairperson. The current chairperson of the IAT is Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, SC.
Ends/Friday, July 23, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases