Appointments to Elderly Commission

     The Government announced today (July 16) the re-appointment of five incumbent members, as well as the appointment of 10 new members, namely Dr Bai Xue, Dr Johnnie Casire Chan Chi-kau, Dr Elsie Hui, Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa, Mr Lau Tat-chuen, Mr Horace Lit Hoo-yin, Dr James Luk Ka-hay, Mr Theodore Ma Heng, Mr Kyrus Siu King-wai and Ms Macy Wong Chor-kei, to the Elderly Commission (EC). Their appointments will take effect on July 30, 2021, for a term of two years.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, said, "Since its establishment in 1997, the EC has spared no effort in providing advice to the Government in the formulation of a comprehensive policy in caring for elderly persons. The re-appointed and newly appointed members come from a diverse background and possess rich experience in elderly services and relevant fields. I look forward to receiving their valuable advice on the work of the EC."

     Dr Law also thanked the outgoing members, namely Mr Cheung Leong, Ms Diana Chung Wai-yee, Professor Diana Lee Tze-fan, Dr Pang Fei-chau, Mrs Susan So Chan Wai-hang, Dr Doris Tse Man-wah, Mr Wong Kit-loong, Mr Kenneth Wong Tai-lun and Dr Yeung Ka-ching, for their sterling contribution to the EC.

     The membership of the EC for the new term is as follows:

Dr Lam Ching-choi

Non-official members
Dr Bai Xue
Dr Johnnie Casire Chan Chi-kau
Ms Maggie Chan Mei-kit
Ms Tammy Chan Yee-ching
Mr Chua Hoi-wai
Dr Elsie Hui
Professor Linda Lam Chiu-wa
Mr Lau Tat-chuen
Ms Grace Li Fai
Mr Horace Lit Hoo-yin
Dr Vivian Lou Wei-qun
Dr James Luk Ka-hay
Mr Theodore Ma Heng
Mr Kyrus Siu King-wai
Ms Macy Wong Chor-kei
Miss Yu Chui-yee

Official members
Secretary for Food and Health or representative
Secretary for Labour and Welfare or representative
Secretary for Transport and Housing/Director of Housing or representative
Director of Health or representative
Director of Social Welfare or representative
Chief Executive, Hospital Authority or representative

Ends/Friday, July 16, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:00