Candidate Eligibility Review Committee convenes first meeting (with photo)

     The Candidate Eligibility Review Committee (CERC) today (July 14) convened its first meeting, which was attended by all of its members.

     The CERC is chaired by the Chief Secretary for Administration, Mr John Lee. The official members comprise the Secretary for Constitutional and Mainland Affairs, Mr Erick Tsang Kwok-wai; the Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Caspar Tsui; and the Secretary for Security, Mr Tang Ping-keung. The non-official members comprise Miss Elsie Leung, Mrs Rita Fan and Professor Lawrence Lau.

     The CERC is responsible for reviewing and confirming the eligibility of candidates for Election Committee (EC) membership (including ex-officio members, nominees and candidates of the EC), the office of Chief Executive and membership of the Legislative Council. The CERC will decide whether the person concerned complies with the legal requirements and conditions for upholding the Basic Law of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) of the People's Republic of China (PRC) and swearing allegiance to the HKSAR of the PRC ("upholding the Basic Law and swearing allegiance to the HKSAR"). In its decision-making process, the CERC may consult the Committee for Safeguarding National Security of the HKSAR (National Security Committee).

     On the basis of the review by the National Security Department of the Police Force of the HKSAR Government, the National Security Committee will make findings as to whether a candidate complies with the legal requirements and conditions of "upholding the Basic Law and swearing allegiance to the HKSAR", and issue an opinion to the CERC in respect of those who fail to meet such legal requirements and conditions. 

Ends/Wednesday, July 14, 2021
Issued at HKT 17:22