Go to main content
Appointments to Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Review Tribunal
     The Government announced today (March 26) that the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury has re-appointed Mr Paul Shieh Wing-tai, SC, as the chairperson of the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Review Tribunal, and appointed 11 persons as panel members of the Tribunal for a term of three years. All appointments will take effect on April 1, 2021.
     The appointments and re-appointments of panel members are as follows:
Re-appointed chairperson
Mr Paul Shieh Wing-tai, SC
Re-appointed panel members (8)
Mr William Ahern                                          
Ms Lena Chan                                               
Mr Gary Cheung Wai-kwok                                 
Mr Praveen Daswani                               
Ms Mary Huen Wai-yi                                    
Mrs Ann Kung Yeung Yun-chi                 
Ms Rebecca Poon Chui-ngor                          
Mr Anthony Rogers, QC
Newly appointed panel members (3)
Mr Anthony Chiu Ling-cheong                      
Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming                              
Mr Roy Tsang Chi-wai         
     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "Under the exemplary leadership of Mr Shieh, the Tribunal has been operating smoothly. I look forward to Mr Shieh's continued guidance for the work of the Tribunal in the new term."
     Mr Hui extended his welcome to the three newly appointed members. Mr Hui said, "Mr Anthony Chiu Ling-cheong, Ms Cindi Hui Ming-ming and Mr Roy Tsang Chi-wai have a strong public service record. I am confident that their expertise and experience will contribute to the effective operation of the Tribunal."
     Mr Hui also expressed his gratitude to the three outgoing members, Mr Chan Kam-hon, Mr Peter Li Po-ting and Mr Anson Wong Man-kit, SC, for their valuable contributions over the years.
     The Tribunal was established under the Anti-Money Laundering and Counter-Terrorist Financing Ordinance (Cap. 615) to review specified decisions made under the Ordinance by a relevant authority (including the Hong Kong Monetary Authority, the Securities and Futures Commission, the Insurance Authority and the Customs and Excise Department), any decision of the Commissioner of Customs and Excise on licensing matters in respect of money service operators, and any decision of the Registrar of Companies on licensing and disciplinary matters in respect of trust or company service providers.
Ends/Friday, March 26, 2021
Issued at HKT 11:30
Today's Press Releases