Go to main content
Minimum Wage Commission appointments announced
     The Government announced today (February 19) the appointments to the Minimum Wage Commission (MWC) for a two-year term with effect from March 1, 2021.

     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze as the chairperson of the MWC and appointed its 12 members from the labour sector, the business sector, academia and the Government. The chairperson and the nine non-official members are appointed on an ad personam basis.

     Among the non-official members, Mr Chan Wing-on, Mr Lau Chin-shek, Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan, Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi, Ms Ng Wai-yee, Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin and Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying are serving members, while Professor Joyce Ma Lai-chong and Dr Tang Hei-wai are newly appointed.

     The Secretary for Labour and Welfare, Dr Law Chi-kwong, welcomed the appointments. He said, "The MWC assumes the important mission of reviewing and recommending the Statutory Minimum Wage (SMW) rate. The chairperson and members of the MWC for the new term possess a good wealth of knowledge and abundant experience in various fields. I am confident that the MWC will continue to discharge its statutory function effectively."

     Dr Law also thanked the two outgoing members, Professor Paul Lau Sau-him and Professor Terry Lum Yat-sang, for their excellent support and sterling contributions to the MWC.

     Established under the Minimum Wage Ordinance, the main function of the MWC is to report to the Chief Executive in Council its recommendations about the SMW rate. In performing its function, the MWC must have regard to the need to maintain an appropriate balance between the objectives of forestalling excessively low wages and minimising the loss of low-paid jobs, and the need to sustain Hong Kong's economic growth and competitiveness.
     The membership of the MWC for the next term is as follows:

Ms Priscilla Wong Pui-sze

Non-official Members
Mr Chan Wing-on
Mr Lau Chin-shek
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Dr Billy Mak Sui-choi
Ms Ng Wai-yee
Ms Malina Ngai Man-lin
Mrs Katherine Ngan Ng Yu-ying
Professor Joyce Ma Lai-chong (newly appointed)
Dr Tang Hei-wai (newly appointed)

Members who are public officers
Permanent Secretary for Labour and Welfare
Permanent Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development
(Commerce, Industry and Tourism)
Government Economist
Ends/Friday, February 19, 2021
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases