Appointments to Chinese Medicine Development Committee

     The Government announced today (January 31) the appointments of three new members and re-appointments of 19 incumbent members to the Chinese Medicine Development Committee (CMDC). Meanwhile, Mr Chan Wing-kwong is appointed as the Chairman of the Chinese Medicine Practice Subcommittee (CMPSC) under the CMDC while Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang is re-appointed as the Chairman of the Chinese Medicines Industry Subcommittee (CMISC).

     All appointments will take effect from February 1, 2021, for a term of two years.
     The CMDC is chaired by the Secretary for Food and Health to provide recommendations to the Government concerning the direction and long-term strategy of the future development of Chinese medicine in Hong Kong, focusing on the study of four key areas, namely the development of Chinese medicine services, personnel training and professional development, scientific research and development, and development of the Chinese medicines industry (including Chinese medicines testing). Since its establishment in 2013, the CMDC has provided valuable advice to the Government on various important issues including the development of a Chinese medicine hospital, integrated Chinese-Western medicine development, the Hong Kong Chinese Materia Medica Standards Project and the establishment of the Government Chinese Medicines Testing Institute, etc. The CMPSC and the CMISC have been set up under the CMDC to focus deliberation on respective areas.
     The Secretary for Food and Health, Professor Sophia Chan, thanked the outgoing Chairperson of the CMPSC, Ms Feng Jiu, as well as other members of the CMDC and its subcommittees, for their invaluable contributions to the development of Chinese medicine.
     The membership of the CMDC and the two sub-committees, effective from February 1, 2021, are as follows:


Secretary for Food and Health

Non-official Members
* Mr Chan Wing-kwong
* Professor Chen Hubiao
* Professor Vincent Chung Chi-ho
# Professor Feng Yi-bin 
* Ms Ada Ho Ching-ying
* Mrs Jeanie Hu Leung Tze-wai
* Dr Hui So-fong
# Ms Lam Pui-yan 
* Professor Lee Chack-fan
* Professor Leung Ting-hung
* Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang
* Dr Lui Sing-leung
* Professor Lyu Aiping
* Dr Or Ka-hang
* Ms Tang Mui-fun
# Mr Ting Wing-fai
* Dr Tse Man-li
* Ms Wang Huimin
* Ms Alice Wong Suet-ying
* Ms Wong Yu-yeuk
* Ms Teresa Yeung Siu-lin
* Mr Timothy Yung Tsz-ho

Ex-officio Members
Permanent Secretary for Food and Health (Health)
Commissioner for Innovation and Technology (or representative)
Director of Health (or representative)
Chief Executive of the Hospital Authority (or representative)

# New appointments
* Re-appointments

Mr Chan Wing-kwong

Non-official Members
Mr Dennis Au Cheuk-wing
Mr Chan Kam-wa
Mr Cheung Yi-chung
Mr Cheung Yu-ho William
Dr Kevin Chu Ka-wing 
Dr Ho Wing-tim
Dr Janice Ho Yuen-shan
Mr Lam Chun-pong
Mr Henry Lee Kai-ping
Dr Peggy Lee Siu-pik
Professor Li Min
Ms Lin Wing-han
Ms Alma Ling
Mr Ling Kwan-yee
Dr Liong Ching
Mr Eddie Lo Ting-yu 
Ms Irene Lui Kam-oi
Dr So Tsz-him
Dr Wong Chung-leung
Ms Wong Hung-ngan

Ex-officio Members
Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau
Representative(s) from the Department of Health
Representative(s) from the Hospital Authority

Mr Tommy Li Ying-sang

Non-official Members
Dr Dawn Au Ching-tung
Ms Michelle Au Yeung Fung-ying
Dr Chan Kei-wai
Mr Cheung Chun-hoi
Dr Priscilla Choy Wai-fun
Mr Kwok Tsz-ming
Mr Dominic Lam Chun-hong
Mr Lam Wing-ho
Ms Li Handong
Ms Winnie Ng Wing-mui
Professor Shen Jiangang
Mr Tam Kwok-leung
Mr Wong Ka-on
Mr Nicholas Wong Lup-hoi
Ms Wong Sau-wan
Mr Edward William Yau Fook-wing
Mr Harry Yeung Kwok-chun
Mr Mason Yip Yue-keung
Dr Zhang Qingling

Ex-officio Members
Representative(s) from the Food and Health Bureau
Representative(s) from the Department of Health
Representative(s) from the Innovation and Technology Commission

Ends/Sunday, January 31, 2021
Issued at HKT 12:00