Go to main content
Appointment of ACAN Chairman and members
     The Government announced today (December 31) that the Chief Executive has appointed Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung to succeed Dr Ben Cheung Kin-leung as the Chairman of the Action Committee Against Narcotics (ACAN), and appointed Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung, Ms Vera Ho Ivy Yuen-wei, Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi and Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai as new members. Thirteen members have also been re-appointed. 
     The appointments of Dr Li and other members are for a two-year term from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2022. 
     On the appointments of the new term of the ACAN, the Secretary for Security, Mr John Lee, said, "Dr Li is a distinguished medical practitioner in family medicine who has rich clinical experience in family medicine and a strong record across various sectors of public service. I have every confidence that under his leadership, the ACAN will continue to contribute to the multi-pronged strategies in combating drugs."
     Among the newly appointed ACAN members, Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung is a dental surgeon; Ms Vera Ho Ivy Yuen-wei is a director of a company; Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi is the Director of Caritas Social Work Services Division; and Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai is a secondary school principal.
     Mr Lee said, "The new ACAN members come from various sectors including the medical, business, social services and education sectors. Their expertise and valuable experiences will bring new momentum to the work of the ACAN. The Narcotics Division will continue to work closely with the ACAN, relevant government departments and community stakeholders to strive to build a drug-free society."

     Mr Lee expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Dr Cheung, and said, "Dr Cheung has made untiring efforts in promoting anti-drug work, particularly promoting the integration of treatment and rehabilitation services and collaboration between the medical and social services in anti-drug treatment. Under his six-year sterling leadership, the ACAN has provided invaluable advice to the Government on the fight against drugs."
     Mr Lee also extended his sincere thanks to the four outgoing members for their contributions to the work of the ACAN. They are Mr Edwin Cheng Shing-lung, Dr Cheung Wai-him, Mr Simon Ip Shing-hing and Dr Annissa Lui Wai-ling.
     The ACAN is the Government's advisory body on anti-drug matters. It was established in 1965. The membership list of the new term of the ACAN is as follows: 
Dr Donald Li Kwok-tung
Dr Eugene Chan Kin-keung
Mr Chan Man-ho
Mr Chan Wing-kin
Mr Fan Hoi-kit
Ms Vera Ho Ivy Yuen-wei
Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong
Mr Frederick Lai Wing-hoi
Dr Lam Ho-yi
Dr Lee Tin-yan*
Mr Clifford Leung Siu-on
Miss Li Ka-yan*
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Professor Ng Chi-fai
Mr Poon Hing-fai
Mr Albert Su Yau-on
Mr Sunny Tan
Professor Tang Wai-kwong
Ms Susan Yeung
Director, Central Narcotics Bureau of Singapore
Secretary for Education or his representative
Commissioner of Police or his representative
Commissioner of Customs and Excise or his representative
Director of Health or his representative
Director of Social Welfare or his representative
Commissioner for Narcotics
* appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth with the current term of appointment from June 1, 2020, to December 31, 2022.
Ends/Thursday, December 31, 2020
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases