Appointments to Process Review Panel for Financial Reporting Council

     The Government announced today (December 31) the appointment of Ms Edith Shih as the new Chairperson and Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen, Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing, Mr Frederick Tsang Sui-cheong, Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan and Mr Yu Chung-leung as new members of the Process Review Panel (PRP) for the Financial Reporting Council (FRC) for a term of two years from January 1, 2021, to December 31, 2022. The Secretary for Justice (or her representative) has been appointed as an ex-officio member from January 1, 2021, onwards.
     Announcing the appointments, the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "The PRP for the FRC helps enhance the transparency and accountability of the FRC. We are confident that, under the leadership of the new Chairperson and with the support of panel members, the PRP will continue to discharge its duties effectively to enhance our financial reporting and corporate governance regime."
     Mr Hui also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing Chairman, Dr Anthony Chow Wing-kin, and members, Ms Florence Chan Yuen-fan and Professor Low Chee-keong, for their valuable contribution and support to the Panel over the past six years.
     The PRP for the FRC is an independent and non-statutory body that reviews the operational procedures of the FRC and determines whether the actions taken by the FRC in handling cases have followed its internal procedures and guidelines. The Chairman and members of the PRP are appointed by the Financial Secretary under authority delegated by the Chief Executive.

     The membership list of the PRP for the FRC with effect from January 1, 2021, is as follows:
Ms Edith Shih
Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen
Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing
Mr Frederick Tsang Sui-cheong
Mr Tse Kam-keung
Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan
Mr Yu Chung-leung
Ex-officio Members
Dr Kelvin Wong Tin-yau (in the capacity as Chairman of the FRC)
Secretary for Justice (or her representative)

Ends/Thursday, December 31, 2020
Issued at HKT 12:00