Go to main content
Appointments to Professional Services Advancement Support Scheme Vetting Committee announced
     The Government announced today (December 28) that it has re-appointed Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum and Mr Lau Ping-cheung as the Chairman and the Vice-Chairman respectively of the Vetting Committee of the Professional Services Advancement Support Scheme (PASS).

     The Government has also appointed Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan, Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan, Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai, Ms Pearl Tse Pui-pui and Professor Wong Kam-fai as new members of the Vetting Committee and re-appointed 10 incumbent members.

     All the above appointments will take effect on January 1, 2021, for a term of two years.

     The PASS provides financial support for non-profit-distributing organisations to carry out industry-led projects aimed at increasing exchanges and co-operation between Hong Kong professionals and their counterparts in external markets, promoting relevant publicity activities, and enhancing the standards and external competitiveness of Hong Kong professional services. The Vetting Committee considers the applications received under the PASS, recommends on the level of funding support, and monitors the implementation of the approved projects.

     As announced in the 2020 Policy Address, $50 million will be set aside under the PASS to subsidise major professional bodies to participate in exchanges, promotion and professional standard enhancement activities organised by the Government, the Hong Kong Trade Development Council and overseas Economic and Trade Offices to step up promotion of Hong Kong's competitive edge and their services to Mainland cities in the Guangdong-Hong Kong-Macao Greater Bay Area and overseas markets after the pandemic situation has stabilised. Professional bodies are also encouraged to make use of the PASS funding to organise their own exchanges, promotion and professional standard enhancement activities.

     The full membership of the Vetting Committee, with effect from January 1, 2021, is as follows:

Dr Jonathan Choi Koon-shum

Mr Lau Ping-cheung

Dr Sunny Chai Ngai-chiu
Mr Chan Chi-chiu
Mr Karson Choi Ka-tsan
Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping
Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun
Dr Sigmund Leung Sai-man
Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan
Ms Edith Shih
Mr Ronald Sum Kwan-ngai
Ms Pearl Tse Pui-pui
Professor Martin Wong Chi-sang
Professor Wong Kam-fai
Executive Director of Hong Kong Productivity Council or his/her representative
Executive Director of Hong Kong Trade Development Council or his/her representative
Deputy Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development (Commerce and Industry)
Ends/Monday, December 28, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:00
Today's Press Releases