Go to main content
Appointments of lay members of HKICPA Council
     The Government announced today (November 6) the appointment of Ms Agnes Choi Heung-kwan and re-appointment of Ms Theresa Ng Choi-yuk as lay members of the Council of the Hong Kong Institute of Certified Public Accountants (HKICPA) for a term of two years from December 1, 2020, to November 30, 2022.
​     The Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury, Mr Christopher Hui, said, "The accountancy sector plays a pivotal role in Hong Kong's success as an international financial centre. We look forward to the contribution of Ms Choi and Ms Ng to the work of the HKICPA and promoting the development of the accountancy profession."
​     Mr Hui also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing lay member, Ms Susie Ho Shuk-yee, for her contribution and support rendered to the Council.
​     The HKICPA is the statutory licensing body for accountants in Hong Kong and currently has more than 46 000 members. It is responsible for maintaining a register of accountants and auditors, conducting the examinations regarding qualification of accountants, encouraging the study of accountancy by accountants, representing the views of the profession and preserving the profession's integrity and status. The HKICPA Council is the governing body of the Institute.
​     Under the Professional Accountants Ordinance (Cap. 50), the HKICPA Council comprises a maximum of 23 persons, including four lay members appointed by the Chief Executive. The power of the Chief Executive to make appointments to the Council has been delegated to the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury.
Ends/Friday, November 6, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:30
Today's Press Releases