Go to main content
Common Spatial Data Advisory Committee holds first meeting
     The first meeting of the newly established Common Spatial Data Advisory Committee was held today (October 5). The Committee advises the Government on how best to develop the Common Spatial Data Infrastructure (CSDI) as a one-stop platform with a wide range of standardised spatial data that will make data sharing easier as well as more accessible and effective when it is in full operation by the end of 2022.
     Chaired by the Director of Lands, Mr Andrew Lai, the Committee comprises representatives from various bureaux/departments as well as 24 non-official members from relevant sectors, including the construction industry, geospatial and IT related groups, academics, social/community services, public utilities and transport operators. The members are appointed for a term of three years from October 1 this year to September 30, 2023. 
     During today's meeting, members were briefed on the Government's initiatives on the development of the CSDI and the 3D Digital Map in Hong Kong.
     Speaking at the meeting, Mr Lai said, "With members' extensive professional expertise and experience, I hope that the Committee will assist the Government in formulating pragmatic measures to take forward the development of the CSDI in support of Hong Kong becoming a world-class smart city."
     The membership list of the Committee is as follows:
Director of Lands
Non-official members nominated by professional/trade organisations
Mr Paul Chan Chi-fai (Hong Kong Institution of Engineers)
Mr Terence Chan Tak-ming (Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors)
Mr Aaron Chan Wing-kai (Hong Kong Institute of Architects)
Mr Paul Chan Yuen-king (Hong Kong Institute of Landscape Architects)
Mr Louis Loong Hon-biu (Real Estate Developers Association of Hong Kong)
Dr Winnie Tang Shuk-ming (Smart City Consortium)
Dr Kenneth Tang Siu-sing (Hong Kong Institute of Planners)
Mr Paul Tsui Hoi-yuen (Hong Kong Institute of Surveyors)
Mr Barry Wilson (Hong Kong Institute of Urban Design)
Mr Rex Wong Siu-han (Hong Kong Construction Association)
Professor Anthony Yeh Gar-on (Hong Kong Geographic Information System Association)
Mr Gary Yeung Man-yui (Internet Professional Association)
Non-official members appointed on an ad-personam basis
Mr Alfred Chan Wing-kin
Mr Chiang Tung-keung
Mr William Chung Chak-man
Ms Susanna Hui Hon-hing
Dr George Lam
Mr Roger Lee Chak-cheong
Mr Ricky Leung Wing-kee
Professor Becky Loo Pui-ying
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Professor John Shi Wen-zhong
Mr Wai Chi-sing
Mr Albert Wong Hak-keung
Official members
Representatives of the Development Bureau
Representative of the Innovation and Technology Bureau
Representative of the Buildings Department
Representatives of the Lands Department
Representative of the Planning Department
Ends/Monday, October 5, 2020
Issued at HKT 18:33
Today's Press Releases