Go to main content
Appointments of Private Columbaria Appeal Board members
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Ambrose Ho as the Chairperson and Mr Frederick Chan, Mr Kenneth Kwok and Dr William Wong as the Deputy Chairpersons of the Private Columbaria Appeal Board. Eighteen serving members have also been re-appointed to a second term. The re-appointments, gazetted today (September 25), will take effect from September 29, 2020, to September 28, 2023, for three years.
     A spokesman for the Food and Health Bureau said that the regulation of private columbaria involves complicated and sensitive issues, requiring contributions from a balanced mix of panel members from diverse backgrounds, including expertise in legal, planning, land, building, transport, environment and commercial business fields. 
     "Appointment to the second term ensures that the Appeal Board will continue to have a good mix of members from various professional fields with profound experience and expertise that is relevant to the work of the Board. We are indebted to all members for their contributions in the first term and we are confident that members of the second term will keep rising to the challenges and tender valued advice to the Board in reviewing appeal cases from all perspectives," said the spokesman.
     The Government also paid tribute to outgoing members, Mrs Pamela Chan Wong Shui, Mr Ivan Fu Chin-shing and Miss Vivian Yu Yuk-ying, for their contributions and support over the past years.
     The Private Columbaria Appeal Board is a statutory body established under section 83 of the Private Columbaria Ordinance (Cap. 630) to hear and determine an appeal lodged by an applicant or a holder of a specified instrument who is aggrieved by a decision made by the Private Columbaria Licensing Board or the Director of Food and Environmental Hygiene referred to in section 84(1) of the Ordinance.
     The membership list of the Appeal Board for the second term is as follows:
Mr Ambrose Ho, SC
Deputy Chairpersons
Mr Frederick Chan Hing-fai
Mr Kenneth Kwok Hing-wai, SC
Dr William Wong Ming-fung, SC
Ms Bonnie Chan Jo-ying
Dr Chau Chi-kwan
Mr Chiu Kam-kuen
Dr Catherine Chong Shiu-yin
Dr Choy Hung-tat
Mr Nevin Ho Chi-lok
Mr Sunny Ho Lap-kee
Mr Lincoln Huang Ling-hang
Mr Spencer Kwan Tin-che
Miss Queenie Fiona Lau
Mr Ben Leung Chi-hung
Mr Philip Leung Kwong-hon
Mr Fred Li Wah-ming
Mr Timothy Ma Kam-wah
Mr Aidan Tam Lon-foong
Mr Tang Chi-wang
Mr Aaron Wan Chi-keung
Mr Wu Kam-fai
Ends/Friday, September 25, 2020
Issued at HKT 12:15
Today's Press Releases