Re-appointment of Chairman of Transport Advisory Committee and new member appointment

     The Government announced today (September 25) that the Chief Executive has re-appointed Professor Stephen Cheung Yan-leung as Chairman of the Transport Advisory Committee (TAC), and appointed Ms Iris Wan Lai-sze as TAC member for two years from October 1 this year.

     A spokesman for the Transport and Housing Bureau said, "Under the able leadership of Professor Cheung, the TAC has tendered valuable advice on many significant transport issues over the past two years. We look forward to continuing working closely with Professor Cheung and the TAC members in future.

     "We also thank the outgoing member, Ms Shalini Mahtani, for her contributions to the TAC over the past six years," said the spokesman.

     The TAC is a key advisory body to the Government on broad issues of transport policy and major transport-related proposals. Currently, the TAC comprises 16 non-official members, including the Chairman, and three ex-officio members. Its membership and terms of reference are available at

Ends/Friday, September 25, 2020
Issued at HKT 11:00