Go to main content
Appointments to Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals
     The Government today (May 29) announced the appointment of the Chairperson and four new members, as well as the re-appointment of five members, to the Committee on Professional Development of Teachers and Principals (COTAP). 
     Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming has been appointed as the Chairperson of COTAP and the four new members are Ms Chan Yuk-yin, Dr Cheung Kwok-wah, Mr Joseph Kung Kwong-pui and Mr Franky Poon Kai-cheung.
     In addition, five serving members, namely Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin, Ms Hui Ha-mei, Mr George Leung Wing-hung, Mr Liu Ah-chuen and Mr Leo Sung Po-wa, have been re-appointed. 
     The appointments will take effect on June 1, 2020, for a term of two years.
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "We are pleased to have Professor Leung, a renowned scholar, as the Chairperson of COTAP. Professor Leung is the Dean of Education of the Chinese University of Hong Kong, and is currently a member of the Education Commission and the Family Council. With his expert knowledge and profound experience in professional development of teachers and principals, we are confident that Professor Leung will lead COTAP in advising the Government on matters related to professional development of teachers and principals with a view to enhancing the quality of education in Hong Kong."
     Mr Yeung took the opportunity to thank the outgoing Chairperson of COTAP, Dr Carrie Willis. "She has been the Chairperson of COTAP for seven years since its establishment in 2013. Under her remarkable leadership, COTAP has launched the overarching project of T-excel@hk and its various new initiatives, and advised on the implementation of the series of recommendations by the Task Force on Professional Development of Teachers."
     He also expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing members, Professor Hau Kit-tai, Dr Kam Pok-man and Dr Kan Kar-yin, for their valuable contributions to COTAP in the past years.
     COTAP is an advisory body which advises the Government on policies, practices and measures relating to the professional development of the teaching profession at different stages of professional growth. It may, where necessary, conduct educational research and professional development programmes for the teaching profession.
     The new COTAP membership list, effective from June 1, 2020, is as follows:
Professor Alvin Leung Seung-ming
Ms Carmen Chan Ka-mun
Ms Sylvia Chan May-kuen
Ms Chan Yuk-yin
Dr Cheung Kwok-wah
Ms Hui Ha-mei
Professor Horace Ip Ho-shing
Mr Joseph Kung Kwong-pui
Ms Leung Kin-yi
Mr George Leung Wing-hung
Mr Liu Ah-chuen
Mr Franky Poon Kai-cheung
Mr Leo Sung Po-wa
Mr Teddy Tang Chun-keung
Mr Herbert Chia Pun-kok
Mr Tony Choi Siu-chow
Mr Benny Ding Pak-hei
Mr Eugene Fong Yick-jin
Ex-officio member
Deputy Secretary for Education (3)
Ends/Friday, May 29, 2020
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases