Go to main content
Government to gazette waiver of registration and related fees for healthcare professionals
     ​The Government will publish pieces of subsidiary legislation in the Gazette on Friday (May 29) to give effect to the waiver of statutory registration fees for 13 healthcare professions as announced by the Chief Executive on April 8, as a token of appreciation to healthcare professionals in the fight against COVID-19.

     "The waiver will be valid for three years with effect from July 1, 2020. During the concession period the fees payable in respect of statutory registrations/enrolments for the 13 healthcare professions as well as the fees payable in respect of the issuance and/or renewal of practising certificates that take effect during the concession period will be waived," a Government spokesman said today (May 27).

     The 13 healthcare professions include doctors, dentists, dental hygienists, nurses, midwives, Chinese medicine practitioners, pharmacists, occupational therapists, physiotherapists, medical laboratory technologists, optometrists, radiographers and chiropractors. It is estimated that about 125 000 healthcare professionals will benefit from the waiver. Government revenue forgone will be about $92 million.
Ends/Wednesday, May 27, 2020
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases