Go to main content
Appointments to Competition Commission announced
     The Government announced today (April 27) the appointments of a new Chairperson and four new members to the Competition Commission, as well as the re-appointment of 10 incumbent members, all for a term of two years from May 1, 2020.

     Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan is appointed as the Chairperson of the Commission, and Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang, Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen, Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka and Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan are appointed as members of the Commission.

     Professor K C Chan, Ms Jennifer Chan Pui-kwan, Mr Joe Chau Kwok-ming, Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit, Mr Kwok Kwok-chuen, Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay, Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun, Mr Roy Ng Chun-tat, Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee and Mr Tony Yung Kam-fai are re-appointed as members of the Commission.

     On the appointment of the new Chairperson, the Secretary for Commerce and Economic Development, Mr Edward Yau, said, "Mr Samuel Chan has a wealth of experience in public services, particularly in promoting consumer interests and competition. I am confident that under his leadership, the Commission will continue to effectively enforce the Competition Ordinance and foster competition in Hong Kong.

     "I thank the outgoing Chairperson, Ms Anna Wu Hung-yuk, and three members of the Commission, Dr Anthony William Seeto Yiu-wai, Professor Suen Wing-chuen and Mr Dennis Kwok Wing-hang, for their tremendous contribution to the work of the Commission. I would like to express my gratitude in particular to Ms Wu, who has served as the Chairperson for the past seven years. The Government is very much indebted to her devotion to the Commission's work since its establishment. Under her exemplary leadership, the Commission has laid a very solid foundation in governance and achieved a number of important milestones in its combat against anti-competitive conduct," he said.  

     Established under the Competition Ordinance, the Competition Commission enforces the Ordinance and investigates possible contraventions, promotes public understanding of the Ordinance, conducts market studies and advises the Government on competition matters.

     The membership of the Commission with effect from May 1, 2020 is as follows:

Mr Samuel Chan Ka-yan
Professor K C Chan
Ms Jennifer Chan Pui-kwan
Mr Joe Chau Kwok-ming
Mr Michael Hui Wah-kit
Mr Kwok Kwok-chuen
Ms Rachel Lam Yan-kay
Professor Vincent Lau Kin-nang
Mr Patrick Law Fu-yuen
Mr Alan Lui Siu-lun
Mr Roy Ng Chun-tat
Mr Jimmy Ng Wing-ka
Ms Sandy Wong Hang-yee
Professor Anna Wong Wai-kwan
Mr Tony Yung Kam-fai
Ends/Monday, April 27, 2020
Issued at HKT 16:00
Today's Press Releases