Appointment of Non-official Members to ICAC-Related Committees

     The Government announced today (December 27) that the Chief Executive has made appointments and re-appointments to the four Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC) advisory committees, namely the Advisory Committee on Corruption (ACOC), the Operations Review Committee (ORC), the Corruption Prevention Advisory Committee (CPAC) and the Citizens Advisory Committee on Community Relations (CACCR), and to the ICAC Complaints Committee (ICC). All of the appointments and re-appointments are for a term of two years with effect from January 1, 2020. 
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Evan Au Yang Chi-chun and Ms Eirene Yeung as members of the ACOC.    
     The ACOC advises the Commissioner of the ICAC on any aspects of the problem of corruption in Hong Kong, and keeps the operational, staffing and administrative policies of the ICAC under review.  
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Benjamin Tang Kwok-bun as the Chairman as well as Ms Teresa Au Man-yee and Dr Emily Chan Po-shan as members to the ORC. A new member appointed to the Committee is Dr Aron Hari Harilela.
     Dr Harilela is the Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of a locally based company. He is also currently the Chairman of the Hong Kong General Chamber of Commerce.

     The ORC oversees all ICAC investigations. It reviews corruption complaints received and investigations conducted by the ICAC to ensure that they are handled effectively and efficiently. It also examines circumstances where search warrants are authorised by the Commissioner, where persons have been put on bail for more than six months, and where investigations have been lasting for over a year or require substantial resources.
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Adrian Wong Koon-man as the Chairman of the CPAC. Mr Alan Yau Hoi-ngan and Professor Emily Chan Ying-yang have also been re-appointed to the Committee as members. Mr Albert Su Yau-on has been appointed as a new member of the Committee.
     Mr Su is the Chief Executive of the Tung Wah Group of Hospitals. Prior to joining the social welfare sector, he was Assistant Commissioner for Transport in the Government. 
     The CPAC receives and calls for reports from the ICAC about practices and procedures of government departments, public bodies and the private sector which may be conducive to corruption. It also advises the Commissioner on what areas should be examined and the degree of priority to be accorded to each.
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Professor Timothy Tong Wai-cheung as the Chairman of the CACCR. Ms Bonnie Chan Shum-yue, Ms Quince Chong Wai-yan, Mr Lau Chi-kuen and Ms Gigi Wong Ching-chi have also been re-appointed to the Committee as members. 
     The CACCR advises the Commissioner on appropriate measures to foster public support in combating corruption and to educate the public against the evils of corruption. It also monitors community response to the ICAC's work and public attitudes towards corruption in general.
     The Chief Executive has re-appointed Mr Jeffrey Lam Kin-fung as the Chairman and Dr Anissa Chan Wong Lai-kuen as a member to the ICC. Ms Eunice Yung Hoi-yan, Mr Steven Ho Chun-yin, Dr Tik Chi-yuen and Ms Connie Lau Yin-hing are newly appointed as members of the Committee.
     Ms Yung is an incumbent Legislative Council Member. She is a barrister by profession.     
     Mr Ho is also an incumbent Legislative Council Member. He is an independent non-executive director of a locally listed company.  
     Dr Tik is the Chief Executive of an education organisation. He is a former Legislative Council Member.
     Ms Lau had been The Ombudsman for five years before her retirement in early 2019. Prior to that, she was the Chief Executive of the Consumer Council.
     The ICC monitors the handling of non-criminal complaints against the ICAC, reviews the ICAC procedures and practices which may lead to complaints, and makes recommendations when necessary.
     The Government expresses its gratitude to all outgoing members of the above-mentioned committees, who are retiring on December 31, 2019, for their valuable contributions to the work of the respective committees.
     The updated non-official membership lists of the four ICAC advisory committees and the ICC are at the Annex.

Ends/Friday, December 27, 2019
Issued at HKT 20:00