Go to main content
Subsidy amount for Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong in 2020/21 academic year announced
     The Government announced today (December 12) that the subsidy amount of the Non-means-tested Subsidy Scheme for Self-financing Undergraduate Studies in Hong Kong (NMTSS) in the 2020/21 academic year will be adjusted upwards in accordance with the movement of the Composite Consumer Price Index. The annual subsidy amount of the NMTSS will be increased from $31,300 in the current academic year to $32,100.
     The adjusted subsidy amount applies to both new and continuing students meeting the eligibility criteria. The subsidy is tenable for the normal duration of the programmes concerned. Eligible students enrolling in the relevant programmes only need to pay a tuition fee less the subsidy amount. Students in need may still apply for student financial assistance from the Student Finance Office of the Working Family and Student Financial Assistance Agency in respect of the actual tuition fee payable.
     The NMTSS was one of the priority measures announced by the Chief Executive in July 2017 to support quality education. Since the 2017/18 academic year, a non-means-tested annual subsidy has been provided to Hong Kong students meeting the following eligibility criteria:
(a) attaining "3322" in the Hong Kong Diploma for Secondary Education Examination (i.e. level 3 for Chinese Language and English Language and level 2 for Mathematics Compulsory Part and Liberal Studies) when enrolling in eligible self-financing first-year-first-degree programmes; or
(b) attaining sub-degree qualifications (i.e. after completing the locally accredited sub-degree programmes in relevant disciplines) when enrolling in eligible self-financing top-up degree programmes.
     In the 2020/21 academic year, the NMTSS will cover the eligible full-time self-financing locally accredited local and non-local first-year-first-degree and top-up degree programmes offered by 17 institutions. A list of the relevant institutions and programmes for the 2020/21 cohort is at the Annex. The subsidy applies to all eligible students enrolling in the programmes covered by the NMTSS. Applications for the subsidy need to be made through the institutions concerned. For details, please visit: www.cspe.edu.hk/nmtss.
Ends/Thursday, December 12, 2019
Issued at HKT 15:00
Today's Press Releases