122 Mainland higher education institutions to admit Hong Kong students

     The Education Bureau (EDB) today (November 27) welcomed the announcement by the Ministry of Education of the detailed arrangements of the Scheme for Admission of Hong Kong Students to Mainland Higher Education Institutions (Admission Scheme) for 2020. The number of Mainland higher education institutions participating in the Admission Scheme will increase to 122 (listed in the Annex), coming from 21 provinces/municipalities and one autonomous region of the Mainland. They will accept applications from candidates sitting for the Hong Kong Diploma of Secondary Education (HKDSE) Examination in 2020.
     "There will continue to be enhancements to the Admission Scheme in 2020. Compared with 2019, an additional 11 institutions offering various programmes will be participating in the scheme, namely Beijing Sport University, Beijing Film Academy, Tiangong University, Tianjin Foreign Studies University, Civil Aviation University of China, University of Science and Technology of China, Shandong University of Traditional Chinese Medicine, China University of Petroleum (Huadong), Huazhong University of Science and Technology, University of Electronic Science and Technology of China and Xi'an Polytechnic University. The EDB will continue discussion with the Mainland with a view to recruiting more renowned Mainland institutions to participate in the scheme and providing students with multiple study pathways and opportunities to connect with the country's development. The Admission Scheme will admit Hong Kong students based on their results in the HKDSE Examination and exempt them from taking the Joint Entrance Examination for Mainland Institutions, hence relieving their pressure," a spokesperson for the EDB said.
     "As in previous years, there is the School Principal Nomination Scheme under the Admission Scheme and each secondary school can nominate up to eight students. The minimum entrance requirement adopted by the participating Mainland institutions remains unchanged, that is, attainment in the HKDSE Examination of a total score of 10 or above in the four core subjects (i.e. Chinese Language, English Language, Mathematics and Liberal Studies), and among which none of them is below 2."
     The enrolment process of the Admission Scheme in 2020 will follow the practice of previous years, which consists of both online application and subsequent on-site confirmation of application. According to the admission procedure, students can apply online from March 1 to 20, 2020, and perform on-site confirmation as well as make payment of the enrolment fee from March 10 to 28 (except Sundays and public holidays) at the China Education Exchange (HK) Centre. Mainland institutions participating in the Admission Scheme may thereafter arrange interviews based on the application information submitted by candidates. Institutions will announce admission results in late July 2020 and arrange for supplementary enrolment according to the enrolment situation.
     Details of the Admission Scheme are available at the EDB's website (edb.gov.hk/admissionscheme20).
     In addition, the EDB, the China Education Exchange (HK) Centre and Hok Yau Club have jointly compiled the Handbook on the Scheme for Admission of Hong Kong Students to Mainland Higher Education Institutions, which provides comprehensive information on the Admission Scheme and further studies in the Mainland, including information on all participating institutions and the programmes offered, strategy on programme choices and sharing by graduates of Mainland universities. The handbook will be distributed to all Secondary Six students in Hong Kong via their respective secondary schools in due course. It will also be available for download from the above website of the EDB.
     Eligible Hong Kong students enrolled in undergraduate programmes of designated Mainland institutions can apply for means-tested subsidy or non-means-tested subsidy under the Mainland University Study Subsidy Scheme. Application details for the 2020/21 academic year will be announced in mid-2020.

Ends/Wednesday, November 27, 2019
Issued at HKT 11:00