Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority
     The Government today (August 30) announced the re-appointment of Dr Mak Chi-keung as the Deputy Chairman of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority (HKEAA). In addition, the Government appointed two new members to the HKEAA and re-appointed one incumbent member. The appointments are for three years, from September 1, 2019, to August 31, 2022. Details of the appointments are as follows:

Deputy Chairman
Dr Mak Chi-keung (re-appointment)
Mr Yau Siu-hung, secondary school principal
Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung, solicitor
Ms Bonnie Lai Miu-yee, secondary school principal (re-appointment)
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said that the HKEAA is an important partner of the Education Bureau and that the distinguished members from the educational and other professional fields on the HKEAA would enrich the expertise of the Authority.
     Mr Yeung said he looked forward to the continued leadership of Dr Mak, and welcomed Mr Yau Siu-hung and Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung to serve as new members of the HKEAA. He also expressed gratitude to the outgoing members, Mr James Lam Yat-fung and Mr Stephen Hung Wan-shun, for their invaluable contributions to the work of the Authority.
     The HKEAA is a statutory body established under the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Ordinance (Chapter 261) to conduct public examinations and other examinations or assessments approved by the Chief Executive. The composition of the Authority is stipulated in Schedule 2 of the Ordinance. Members of the Authority include school principals, teachers, representatives of tertiary institutions, a person who represents the interests of parents, and persons experienced in commerce, industry or a profession.  
     The following is the membership list of the Authority with effect from September 1, 2019:
Appointed members:
Mr Samuel Yung Wing-ki (Chairman)
Dr Mak Chi-keung (Deputy Chairman)
Mr Yau Siu-hung
Ms Bonnie Lai Miu-yee
Mr Benjamin Ng Yau-keung
Ms Jane Leung Chui-chun
Ms Monica Cheng Wai-yee
Mr Jason Joseph Lee Kwong-yee
Ms Tennessy Hui Mei-sheung
Mr Raymond Cheng Chung-ching
Ms Katherine Cheung Marn-kay
Ex-officio members:
Two persons nominated by the Heads of Universities Committee
The Chairman of the Curriculum Development Council, or his/her representative
The Executive Director of the Vocational Training Council, or his/her representative
The Permanent Secretary for Education, or his/her representative
The Secretary General of the HKEAA
Ends/Friday, August 30, 2019
Issued at HKT 15:39
Today's Press Releases