Go to main content
Appointments to Curriculum Development Council
     The Government today (August 30) announced the chairmanship and membership of the new-term Curriculum Development Council (CDC). Professor Tam Kar-yan is re-appointed as Chairperson of the CDC for a term of two years from September 1.
     Also appointed to the CDC are six new members. They are Professor Ching Wai-ki, Ms Hui Ha-mei, Dr Jacob Hui Shing-yan, Mr Raymond Kwok Chin-kon, Mr Shek Wai-keung and Professor Cindy Sit Hui-ping.
     In addition, 12 serving members, namely Ms Chan On-yan, Mr Eric Chan Sze-yuen, Professor May Cheng May-hung, Ms Chung Po-loi, Reverend Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming, Mr David Leung Yiu-fai, Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho, Dr Poon Po-chiu, Mr Joseph Tsang Chi-to, Ms Wat Ka-man, Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze and Mr Wong Yu-leung, have been re-appointed.
     The Secretary for Education, Mr Kevin Yeung, said, "Professor Tam is currently the Dean of the School of Business and Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology with profound experience in teaching, research and administration. Under his remarkable leadership in the past term, much progress has been made in the ongoing renewal of the school curriculum. In particular, Computational Thinking - Coding Education has been implemented in primary schools since 2017, and the curricula of Chinese History and History at the junior secondary level have been revised."

     He added, "The CDC is responsible for giving advice to the Government on matters relating to curriculum development from the kindergarten to senior secondary levels. Its membership comprises front-line educators and academics or administrators from tertiary institutions with profound professional knowledge in education, as well as professionals in the business and technology fields. Their active participation is conducive to providing professional advice on how to equip students to cope with local and global development needs for the future. The Education Bureau (EDB) will continue to give full support to the CDC in this regard." 
     Mr Yeung expressed his heartfelt gratitude to the outgoing members for their invaluable contributions to the CDC. They are Ms Kam Yin-ping, Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung, Mr Leung Yam-shing, Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang and Dr Pang Ming-fai. Mr Yeung also extended his deep condolences to the family of Ms Lam Tsz-ki, who passed away earlier this year.
     The full list of membership of the CDC with effect from September 1, 2019, is as follows:
Professor Tam Kar-yan Dean of the School of Business and Management and Chair Professor of Information Systems, Business Statistics and Operations Management of the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Appointed members  
Ms Chan On-yan Principal of the Church of Christ in China Tuen Mun Church Kindergarten
Mr Eric Chan Sze-yuen Chief Public Mission Officer of Hong Kong Cyberport Management Company Limited
Professor May Cheng May-hung Associate Vice President (Academic Affairs) cum Registrar and Chair Professor of Teacher Education, Department of Curriculum and Instruction, the Education University of Hong Kong
Professor Ching Wai-ki Professor of the Department of Mathematics, Faculty of Science, the University of Hong Kong
Ms Chung Po-loi Principal of Po On Commercial Association Wan Ho Kan Primary School
Ms Hui Ha-mei Senior Teacher of Yan Oi Tong Pang Hung Cheung Kindergarten
Dr Jacob Hui Shing-yan Vice Principal of Christian and Missionary Alliance Sun Kei Secondary School
Reverend Canon Peter Douglas Koon Ho-ming Provincial Secretary General of Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui
Mr Raymond Kwok Chin-kon Senior Assistant Executive Director (Academic Development & Enterprise)-designate of the Vocational Training Council
Mr David Leung Yiu-fai Head of Operations Training of MTR Corporation Limited and Dean of the MTR Academy
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho Vice-President and Lam Man Tsan Chair Professor of Comparative Policy of Lingnan University
Dr Poon Po-chiu Principal of Ju Ching Chu Secondary School (Yuen Long)
Mr Shek Wai-keung Principal of Hong Chi Morninghill School, Tuen Mun
Professor Cindy Sit Hui-ping Associate Professor of the Department of Sports Science and Physical Education and Associate Dean (Undergraduate Studies) of the Faculty of Education, the Chinese University of Hong Kong
Mr Joseph Tsang Chi-to Vice Principal of Ying Wa College
Ms Wat Ka-man Vice Principal of King's College Old Boys' Association Primary School
Ms Ayse Wong Oi-sze Vice President - Human Resources of Regal Hotels International Limited
Mr Wong Yu-leung Chairman of the Federation of Parent-Teacher Associations Sham Shui Po District Limited
Ex officio members
Principal Assistant Secretary (Curriculum Development) of the EDB, also the Vice-chairperson of the CDC
Chairperson of the Hong Kong Examinations and Assessment Authority Council or his/her representative
Representative from other divisions of the EDB

Ends/Friday, August 30, 2019
Issued at HKT 12:00
Today's Press Releases