SHA presents flag to HKSAR delegation to 2nd National Youth Games (with photo)

     The Flag Presentation Ceremony of the Hong Kong Special Administrative Region (HKSAR) Delegation to the 2nd National Youth Games (NYG) was held at Tsuen Wan Sports Centre today (July 30). More than 600 Hong Kong athletes will take part in the 2nd NYG in Taiyuan, Shanxi.
​     The Secretary for Home Affairs, Mr Lau Kong-wah, officiated at the ceremony and presented the HKSAR flag to the President of the Sports Federation and Olympic Committee of Hong Kong, China, and Chairman of the Organising Committee of the HKSAR Delegation, Mr Timothy Fok.
​     Speaking at the ceremony, Mr Lau said that the HKSAR Government has been allocating a lot of resources to nurture new talents and support athletes to participate in major sports events throughout the years. Local young athletes are able to accumulate their experience and further enhance their skills through the competitions. With their perseverance and outstanding skills, Hong Kong athletes lived up to our expectations and attained remarkable achievements in recent major sports events.
​     The 2nd NYG will be held between August 8 and 18. The HKSAR delegation comprises more than 800 members, of which 620 athletes will participate in final competitions in 27 sports, namely archery, cycling, fencing, triathlon, equestrian, canoeing, weightlifting, judo, athletics, swimming, gymnastics, handball, football, volleyball, table tennis, badminton, tennis, golf, skateboarding, sport climbing, baseball/softball, karatedo, wushu, dragon boating, dancesport, skating and ice hockey.
​     T​he NYG is a national mega sports event held every four years to provide a platform of exchange and competition for young athletes, as well as identify and nurture talents to become successors in the sports sector.
​     Also attending the flag presentation ceremony today were the Permanent Secretary for Home Affairs and Honorary Adviser of the Delegation, Mrs Cherry Tse; the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services and Vice Chairman of the Organising Committee of the Delegation, Ms Michelle Li; and the Vice Chairman of the Organising Committee and Chairman of the Executive Committee of the Delegation, Mr Tony Yue.

Ends/Tuesday, July 30, 2019
Issued at HKT 18:15