Appointments to Insurance Appeals Tribunal

     Under the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, the Financial Secretary has appointed six new members and re-appointed 20 serving members to the panel of the Insurance Appeals Tribunal (IAT) for a new term from July 26, 2019, to July 25, 2021.
     The panel membership of the IAT for the new term is as follows:
New appointees
Professor Chan Koon-hung
Ms Kerry Ching Kim-wai
Ms Julienne Jen
Dr Gladie Lui Man-ching
Professor Phyllis Mo Lai-lan
Mr Simon Tang Shu-pui
Re-appointed members
Mr Frederick Chan Hing-fai
Ms Karen Chan Ka-yin
Professor Stella Cho Lung Pui-lan
Mr Alex Chu Wing-yiu
Professor Goo Say-hak
Mr Marvin Hsu Tsun-fai
Mr Eric Hui Kam-kwai
Professor Michael Hui King-man
Mr Adrian King
Miss Anna-Mae Koo Mei-jong
Ms Juan Leung Chung-yan
Dr Miranda Lou Lai-wah
Mr Philip Mak Shun-pong
Mr Andrew Mak Yip-shing
Professor Joshua Mok Ka-ho
Dr Patrick Poon Sun-cheong
Mr Bhabani Sankar Rath
Mr Gary Soo Kwok-leung
Mr Charles Yang Chuen-liang
Dr Samuel Yung Wing-ki
     Announcing the appointments today (July 26), a Government spokesman said, "The IAT provides an effective safeguard to ensure that the relevant regulatory decisions made by the Insurance Authority (IA) are reasonable and fair."
     The Government also paid tribute to outgoing members. They are Mr Dennis Ho Chiu-ping, Ms Phoebe Tse Siu-ling and Dr William Wong Ming-fung, SC.
     "Their service to the IAT provided an effective safeguard for the proper regulation of the insurance industry in Hong Kong," the spokesman said.

     The IAT is a statutory tribunal established under the Insurance Ordinance (Cap. 41) to review specified decisions made by the IA. The IAT consists of the chairperson and two ordinary members appointed by the Secretary for Financial Services and the Treasury from a pool of panel members on the recommendation of the chairperson. The chairperson of the IAT is Mr Douglas Lam Tak-yip, SC.

Ends/Friday, July 26, 2019
Issued at HKT 12:00