Go to main content
Appointment of self-recommended young members to Museum Advisory Committee announced
     The Government announced today (July 23) the appointment of two new young members to the Museum Advisory Committee (MAC) and its standing sub-committees through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth from today until October 19, 2020, i.e. the end date of the current two-year term of existing members. In addition, two of the standing sub-committees under the MAC, namely the Art Sub-committee and the Science Sub-committee, appointed a total of three co-opted members from today until October 19, 2020.

     Chaired by Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai, the MAC and its three standing sub-committees advise the Leisure and Cultural Services Department (LCSD) on strategies for development, promotion and management of the public museums. 

     The membership list and terms of reference of the MAC are as follows:

Mr Stanley Wong Yuen-fai
Mr Aaron Raj Chandrasakaran* (appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth)
Mr Victor Cheng Pat-leung
Ms Liza Cheung Lai-sang
Professor Ching Pak-chung
Ms Anita Fung Yuen-mei
Mrs Christine Ip Yeung See-ming
Ms Elaine Kwok
Mr Gyver Lau Kwok-leung
Professor Leung Wing-mo 
Mr Vincent Lo Wing-sang
Ms Anthea Lo Wing-sze
Ms Doris Luey Sisi
Professor Ricardo Mak King-sang
Professor Eva Man Kit-wah
Mr Rex Mok Chung-fai
Dr Ng Chun-hung 
Professor Ng Tai-kai
Mr David Pong Chun-yee
Ms Clara Shek Ka-lai
Mr Douglas So Cheung-tak
Ms Helen So Hiu-ming
Mr Eliott Hancock Suen* (appointed through the Member Self-recommendation Scheme for Youth)
Professor Joseph Ting Sun-pao
Ms Ada Wong Ying-kay
* Newly appointed Members
Terms of Reference
     To advise the Director of Leisure and Cultural Services on a wide range of subject matters concerning the public museums and related offices managed by the LCSD:
  • positioning, image-building and branding;
  • business development strategies including but not limited to acquisition and use of museum collections, organisation of exhibitions and education programmes, identification of research projects, sponsorship and partnership initiatives;
  • marketing and publicity strategies on the promotion of the museums both locally, on the Mainland and overseas;
  • development of community engagement strategies to reach out to a wider community and stakeholders (e.g. local artists, collectors, local and overseas museums, cultural organisations, and educational institutions);
  • measures to strengthen the operational efficiency and accountability of public museums; and
  • any other matters as proposed by the LCSD.
     The membership lists and terms of reference of the three standing sub-committees are attached in Annexes 1 to 3.
Ends/Tuesday, July 23, 2019
Issued at HKT 15:08
Today's Press Releases