Go to main content
Appointments to Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board
     The Financial Secretary, with the authority delegated by the Chief Executive, has re-appointed Professor Michael Hui King-man as the Chairperson of the Hong Kong Deposit Protection Board and appointed three persons as members of the Board. All appointments will take effect for a term of three years from July 1, 2019.
     Ms Anita Gidumal, an incumbent member, is re-appointed, while Professor Chan Koon-hung and Professor Lee Kwok-on are newly appointed as board members.
     Announcing the appointments, a government spokesman said, "We are confident that the Board will continue to contribute to the maintenance of an effective deposit protection scheme in Hong Kong under the stewardship of Professor Hui and other members.
     "We would like to express our heartfelt thanks to the outgoing members, Mr Mat Ng, Ms Barbara Shiu and Professor Tam Kar-yan, for their valuable contributions over the past years."
     The Board is a statutory body established in 2004 under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance. Its primary function is to maintain and manage the effective and efficient operation of the deposit protection scheme, for protecting depositors and contributing to the stability of the banking system.
     The above appointments under the Deposit Protection Scheme Ordinance were gazetted today (June 28).
Ends/Friday, June 28, 2019
Issued at HKT 11:03
Today's Press Releases